Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 120 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2006, 12:52 PM   #1786
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
have got your system running?

full frame preview using quadro's component in vegas?
this is also an answer i'd like to hear!

please share us the experience!
cheers!
Hornady Setiawan is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 12:59 PM   #1787
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
have u tried capturing your HDV m2ts using HDVSplit?

if it works, then your firewire is OK.
Hornady Setiawan is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 01:00 PM   #1788
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I agree with Spot - it's best to just test them out. There's also videos demoing how each works as well which you might also want to watch.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 01:01 PM   #1789
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
Good for you mate! :)
Hornady Setiawan is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 01:28 PM   #1790
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
u can use the built it 'track effects' in vegas. In every track vegas automatically preped a line of common effect already active. You just need to set the EQ track effect for low cut & you're done.
Hornady Setiawan is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 02:45 PM   #1791
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Horizontal flip

Hi, I need to flip the image along the central horizontal axis but I cannot find a fliter that does it.

I heard speak of 'Allens flip' in another thread -anyone know the answer?


Nick.
Nick Outram is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 02:47 PM   #1792
Planck Studios
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 9
Vegas 6 and New NVidia GeForce 7950 GX2 Video Card

Anyone have any info on how well Vegas 6 could utilize the Dual SLI connection of a new video card like this one?

http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q2...2/index.x?pg=1

I know Vegas takes advantage of dual CPUs ok (not so much Magic Bullet addons) and wondering if anyone's had a good experience working w/ multiple cards and if there's a performance increase.

Oh, to have realtime preview....
__________________
"kill the body and the head will die" - HST
http://planckstudios.com
Jonathan Johnson is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 02:53 PM   #1793
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
You can use Adam Woodworth's flip, or you can flip in Pan/Crop as well. Woodworth's flip is more CPU efficient.
www.mirkwood.com
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 03:51 PM   #1794
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurence Kingston
The stock mic that comes with the A1 doesn't have much low end to begin with.
I am using the ME-64
Michael Stowe is offline  
Old June 5th, 2006, 11:20 PM   #1795
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Johnson
Anyone have any info on how well Vegas 6 could utilize the Dual SLI connection of a new video card like this one?

http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q2...2/index.x?pg=1

I know Vegas takes advantage of dual CPUs ok (not so much Magic Bullet addons) and wondering if anyone's had a good experience working w/ multiple cards and if there's a performance increase.

Oh, to have realtime preview....
I would also be interested to know this. I do not have dual video cards, but my current card/mobo allow for it. I have not read much on the SLI connection, but it does sound promising. Hopefully someone will have experience with this. I am wondering if the MOBO/video cards are the main players with this technology and not the individual programs. Yes, the dual CPU is really dependent on the program you are using, but I wonder if this is different.
Michael Stowe is offline  
Old June 6th, 2006, 01:55 AM   #1796
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
Thanks for your help Don, I'll have a play around with the settings and have a look at what I have done, then completely redo the instant replay segment.

Once again, thanks

Scott
Scott Johnston is offline  
Old June 6th, 2006, 03:36 AM   #1797
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
One bin one or many small ones?

(title should say "one BIG one..." - but I don't know how to change the title)

I've posted this here as I use DVD Architect which is sort of linked with Vegas! But mods - feel free to moove to somewhere more appropriate.

I'm just completing my first wedding production and was wondering if there is a best way of compiling the DVD:

1 - Create one huge mpeg in Vegas (using nested projects) and use chapter points to marke a particular point in that file - or
2 - create an mpeg for each section and the chapter points will point to the begining of each file.

or doesn't it really matter?

Thanx

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline  
Old June 6th, 2006, 06:06 AM   #1798
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
It really doesn't matter as it will work either way. Personally I prefer to to take my AVIs for the project and create a single large MPEG-it's just the way I've pretty much always done it for weddings-but that's just me. AVIs to MPEG with the chapter points in Vegas using AC3 audio of course, and then into DVDa to create the DVD-a very simple procedure.
BTW in method #2 in order for the chapters to move from 1 to another you need to add END ACTIONS from each chapter to point to the next one-an added step that I find unnecessary by rendering 1 large file. Same amount of time I guess but this way I render whil I sleep ;-)

Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old June 6th, 2006, 08:23 AM   #1799
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I prefer one big MPEG2 file. I find it's easier than trying to string a bunch of smaller files together - especially if you want it to play all the way through. Plus, going backwards to previous chapters will work correctly.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old June 6th, 2006, 08:27 AM   #1800
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Flip plugin

Hi Adam,

I am just about to explore the world of '35mm adapters' so need a flip tool -thanks for this.

Does the flip tool sort out the issues with interlaced flicker: I found this thread that discussed the problem:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=62601

-I am using Vegas 6d btw.


Regards, Nick.
Nick Outram is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network