Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 29 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2006, 06:53 PM   #421
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 32
Have I understood this correctly? (Vegas Movie Studio Platinum)

Hello, I'm a new poster to this forum.

Firstly is it OK to post queries about Movie Studio on this forum?

I just wanted to check that I've understood the info I've gleaned after doing lots of searching.

From what I understand, to make HDV editing painless on a desktop PC (in my case Althlon 64 4000+, with 2 gig ram), I capture the HDV from the camera (Sony HC1E). Pull the .m2t file into the timeline, render as HDV1080-50i intermediate .avi using the Cineform codec. For editing I use the intermediate .avi in the timeline. For exporting in HDV back to the cam using Print to HDV Tape command, I use the 1080-50i template, which creates a new .m2t file ready to send the cam. The resulting quality should be very near to the original HDV source material. Is this correct?

Regards

Graham
Graham Wright is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 06:55 PM   #422
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
of course you can post questions about VMS on this forum. It's all Vegas, so it's all good.

I didn't see a question in your post, not really. You understand the workflow well, and are doing it all correctly, based on what you've written.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 07:31 PM   #423
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 32
Thanks for the reply Douglas.

I just needed reassurance that I hadn't misunderstood anything :-)

I bought a download version of VMSP, so the HDV: What You NEED to KNow book will be sent to me by post from the States. So I'm looking forward to reading that.
Graham Wright is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:11 PM   #424
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I think I experienced the same problem with my Audigy, but I would have to check and I'm rather tired right now.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:11 PM   #425
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can collapse individual tracks... in the top left corner, there is a little minimize icon. It's on the very very left, to the left of the numbers that indicate track #.

Otherwise I don't know of any way of collapsing those tracks like a tree.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:13 PM   #426
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Are you saying make all the children tracks invisible? If that's basically the question, the answer is no.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:22 PM   #427
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emre Safak
I think I experienced the same problem with my Audigy, but I would have to check and I'm rather tired right now.
Interesting - they both come from the same parent company and I know there are chip and driver parts that are similar.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:38 PM   #428
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Solved!

Solved by a tech on Sony audio forum. Master bus routing had revertred all output to first two ASIO channels despite project settings and mixer meters indicated correct surround setup.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
Old February 10th, 2006, 09:50 PM   #429
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Yeah, Ed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Are you saying make all the children tracks invisible? If that's basically the question, the answer is no.
I was hopeing I was just missing it. But I was asking if you could make the children dissapear basically. I mean I have a 19 inch, but I still find myself scrolling up and down a lot.


It would be helpfull to have the chidren dissapear..................
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 12:12 AM   #430
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Hitting F11 will help a little... it'll turn off the bottom half of Vegas so you can see the full timeline.

You can also hold down the middle mouse wheel button, and mouse up/down.

And as already mentioned, you can minimize individual tracks.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:20 PM   #431
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Superimposing video in Vegas?

Guys,

I cannot figure out in Vegas how to superimpose one clip on top of another for the length of the entire clip. I know I can cross fade part of the clip over the other, but I want the whole clip of a scrolling wedding invitation to be seen through a clip of rolling clouds. I'm stumped!
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:26 PM   #432
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
In the credits dialog, set the background color to transparent.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:37 PM   #433
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Is the scrolling invitation a scan of the actual invitation?

If yes, you might try the clouds on track 1, the invitation on track 2, and reduce the opacity of the clouds to the level desired.

Or are you only wanting the text from the scan?

Or are you using Generated media? If yes, use Spot's suggestion.

Can you give more details?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:41 PM   #434
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Thanks for the reply DSE, but I cannot seem to find the credits dialog even searching through the help files. I forgot to mention I am using Vegas 5 - maybe that makes a difference?
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:55 PM   #435
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Sorry Edward,

We must've posted at the same time. I am using two .avi clips, captured from my PD170. One is of a wedding invitation panned top to bottom, the other is of clouds.

I want to superimpose the two together so that the clouds can also be seen with the invite.
Brandon Wood is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network