Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 42 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2006, 02:33 PM   #616
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 296
If going to DVD, what would be the best form to render in?
__________________
Heath Vinyard
www.ghostlandmedia.com
Heath Vinyard is offline  
Old March 1st, 2006, 03:56 PM   #617
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath Vinyard
If going to DVD, what would be the best form to render in?

I keep mines in the cineform intermeidate format and go to sd dvd it looks good.

All it is is just swaping or replacing the m2t files right?

Thanks again Douglas!
Fred Foronda is offline  
Old March 1st, 2006, 04:17 PM   #618
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath Vinyard
If going to DVD, what would be the best form to render in?
The best thing to do is render to 16x9 (widescreen) SD MPEG2, and make sure your DVD authoring software is capable of processing this correctly. The end result should be a disc which fills a 16x9 screen without distortion when played on a DVD player which is set for 16x9 output, and plays with black bars on the top and bottom when played to a 4x3 TV.
Kevin Shaw is offline  
Old March 1st, 2006, 06:54 PM   #619
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 489
Handles it very well, I discovered this evening.
__________________
www.irishfilmmaker.com
Graham Jones is offline  
Old March 1st, 2006, 10:41 PM   #620
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 103
Vegas Fails to Recognise field Order?

When I render out an uncompressed avi as progressive 16:9 and bring the clip back into Vegas, it defaults to upper field first with aspect ratio 1. It's really annoying to have to right click and change the field order and aspect ratio every time, is there a reason it isn't recognising the field order and aspect ratio?
Andy Gordon is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 04:30 AM   #621
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
You mean bring it back to the same project or a new project. What are your default project properties?

In the project properties dialog box there's a button (folder symbol) for matching media settings. Click on it and then point to your rendered progressive file and the project properties will match those of the file.
Dionyssios Chalkias is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 07:55 AM   #622
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 755
You could always burn to blue-ray, release of Samsungs drive is due in April. My fingers are crossed, LOL

http://www.akihabaranews.com/en/news...+Nikko%29.html
Jon Omiatek is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 08:25 AM   #623
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Hi,

I have always had the same issue with Vegas - render to a 'Progressive' Windows .AVI using Vegas and Vegas will still insist that the file is 'Upper Field First' when attempting to detect the file properties in your Project Settings. Is there a problem with the render or the detection?

As a matter of fact I have never had any reasonable explanation from anyone over the years as to why Vegas does not correctly detect the field order of a file or is it really Vegas that is wrong?

I have had this issue creating files with Boris RED 3GL, MainConcept's MainVision 1.1, Combustion 4, etc. etc. and the problem is that you never know which application is at fault i.e. is Boris RED 3GL (for example) REALLY creating a file which is 'Lower Field First' (as you specified) or is Vegas detecting the field order (and other information) incorrectly?

On numerous occasions I have had to use something like TMPGenc to view the file frame by frame (or field by field) to try and detect the correct field order and even that is not foolproof.

Any comments?

Regards,

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 09:10 AM   #624
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
I have always had the same issue with Vegas - render to a 'Progressive' Windows .AVI using Vegas and Vegas will still insist that the file is 'Upper Field First' when attempting to detect the file properties in your Project Settings. Is there a problem with the render or the detection?
I've just tried it out and I don't have this issue in Vegas 6.0d with PAL DV. When I match my project settings to my deintrlaced AVI file, I get Field order: None (progressive scan).

What version are you using?
Dionyssios Chalkias is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 09:42 AM   #625
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Hello,

Using 6.0d.

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 09:50 AM   #626
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Just did some further testing for interest sake:

It does not matter what field order you specify in your render template - if you output to Video For Windows / Uncompressed .AVI Vegas ALWAYS detects the Field Order as 'Upper Field First' regardless of what field order you used in your render template.

Regards,

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 12:00 PM   #627
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 34
three questions that are plagueing me

1. how come sometimes I can't ripple delete? its not lit up, rather, its greyed out...nothing seems to be in the way, but it won't let me, i have select the tracks and then I can move them around...
2. is there anyway to do picture in picture...imagine a TV show...in the bottom right corner the person doing sight language....possible in Vegas? sure..but how?
3. I have a music track on the timeline, i want to fade about 10 seconds of it for dialogue and then bring it back up, how do i add keyframes to do so? I don't want to split the track, just can't see any other option than lower the whole volume...
thanks for any help
cheers
Q
__________________
http://www.quitofilms.com
brash raw and fully independent
Quito Washington is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 12:44 PM   #628
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Foronda
All it is is just swaping or replacing the m2t files right?
No. It is physically rendering the intermediary to an M2T file which you print to tape. Do not get this confused with swapping the media in the media pool to M2T. It is not the same thing. Either way, the trip back to tape requires you to render all of your edits to the format of the camera which, in this case, is M2T.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 12:45 PM   #629
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
1. Don't know why you sometimes can't ripple after delete. Sometimes Vegas doesn't do what you'd expect because the focus isn't in the correct area - try Alt-0 to bring focus to the tracks. Do click on the little triangle next to the ripple button and check out the various ripple options. There are also keyboard shortcuts that many Vegas editors prefer to the ripple button. Check the keyboard shortcuts section in the help file for "F" key combinations for "post edit ripple".

2. PIP is easy with Vegas. Put the "insert" in a top video track and your "background" video in a track below. Click the track motion button (two squares with an arrow) in the header of the "insert" video track and drag the size and position of the wireframe there, while watching your video preview. Some juggling of window sizes and positions may be neccessary to see both. Two displays is really nice. You'll need to learn about "sync cursor" and keyframes to make most effective use of this control, check out the help file.

3. Music fade - also easy. Insert a volume envelope by highlighting the music track, right click the track header, pull down to insert volume envelope. Now there's a blue line through the middle of your music track. Double click on the line to create ummm... anchors? What does Vegas call them? Points? You'll need four of them to duck the music under a piece of dialog, two to define each volume change. Make them, drag them around, they are easy and versatile.
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old March 2nd, 2006, 12:55 PM   #630
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
For more information on creating a PIP, you might take a look at the first few issues of my newsletters.

For deleting with ripple, make sure you have the proper ripple mode set or use the appropriate Post Ripple Edit mode. Just do a search for "ripple" in the help file.

Volume envelopes are definitely very flexible. You can quickly add one to any selected audio tracks by pressing "V" and then add points as needed to adjust the volume levels.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network