Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 5th, 2006, 02:04 PM   #61
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
You can render them out from a 24p Vegas timeline with a DVD Architect 24p template.

Then, you can make a 24p DVD with DVDA.
David Jimerson is offline  
Old January 6th, 2006, 05:55 AM   #62
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
gain level: rendering mono to stereo audio files in Vegas

This time a more theoretical question on audio gain levels in Vegas (5d):

When I render a mono Audio test signal (1 kHz) with a constant gain of -0.1 db (almost clipping) to a stereo audio file, each if the two resulting channels show the same (i.e. unaltered!) gain of -0,1 dB.

Doing the same in Digidesign ProTools they will have only -3.1 dB each, so each channel has been decreased by 3 dB.

Which gain level is "correct"?
Is there any audio specification to this?

Last edited by Michael Mann; January 6th, 2006 at 08:47 AM.
Michael Mann is offline  
Old January 6th, 2006, 09:07 AM   #63
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Smartrendering PCM AUDIO files in Vegas

And another one:
Does Vegas smartrender unaltered PCM audio files? It should, but audio properties - unlike video properties - does not give an answer.
Michael Mann is offline  
Old January 6th, 2006, 11:40 AM   #64
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Geraldine, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 88
Re-sample or reduce interlace flicker?

OK, in my rendered project a 3-D title with motion looks quite stuttery, not too smooth, and the edges are not smooth. It was rendered as an avi from Bluff titler and added to the project. Which should I use and will it help much, or should I have done something else.
Thanks in advance,
Colin Rayner
__________________
"We don't have any money, so we will have to think" Ernest Rutherford
Colin Rayner is offline  
Old January 6th, 2006, 12:36 PM   #65
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 87
Capturing Live Video and (Separate) Audio

Hey Guys,

I have no problem capturing live video, but I would like to learn more about capturing live multi-track audio. I plan to shoot a few music concerts this summer/fall and I would like to be able to record at least 8 tracks at a time. I recently purchased the Mackie Onyx 1212 mixer with firewire card (will receive on Tues.) to interface with my laptop or desktop. I have a few questions:

1. Has anyone used a Mackie Onyx series mixer with Vegas? If so, how compatible is this hardware with Vegas?

2. Can I capture live video and perform a live multi-track recording at the same time in Vegas (on the same computer)?

3. (After thought) Would I have been better off getting and Echo Layla 3G?Fire 8 and combine this with a 12-16 Channel analog mixer? BTW I don't plan to do surround sound at this time (maybe in the future).

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
__________________
Jack-of-all-trades trying to master one (Videography)
www.sdfvideo.com
Albert Rodgers is offline  
Old January 6th, 2006, 05:49 PM   #66
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 30
I don't have experience with the setup that you have. However, I have used an ADAT for multitrack archival recording of live performances (musical theater) with good results.

The ADAT is patched into a 24 channel mixer. Usually I will use 16-20 channels. Performers are using wireless lavs. Pit orchestra is using wired balanced lines.

I'll record each lead on a separate track and record the rest of the performers mixed down to one or two tracks. For the pit I'll record the lead piano on one track and mixdown the rest of the pit to a separate track.

In post I can dump all eight tracks simultaneously to my computer using an optical connection from the ADAT to a EMU 1818 sound card. I will import all eight tracks into Cubase or Premiere and mixdown the tracks to one master track for the video.

I then will sync the video to the mixed down master audio track in Premiere. Even for a one hour tape (actually 57 minutes) there is no drift between the audio and video once synced.

Hope this helps,
Barry Oppenheim
Barry Oppenheim is offline  
Old January 7th, 2006, 04:14 PM   #67
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Vegas 1080p60 WMV Dual-core decode test...

All you guys with a Dual-Core PC, this will definitily test your computer to see if it stacks up to what it promises. Watch the video, Encoded in 1080p60, and if the transision between the blue lines is smooth, then no frames were dropped! The video was made with Vegas so don't move this thread.

note: Ignore the text on screen and the slight video game screenshot, all you guys are focused on is seeing if your Dual-core computer drops frames in 1080p60.

http://www.filelodge.com/files/hdd3/...itialsetup.wmv

Edit: I don't mean for you to play the video in Vegas to test performance, I just want you to play the video in Windows Media Player.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline  
Old January 7th, 2006, 11:22 PM   #68
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
ok heres my setup on this machine..

albatron mobo ,
LGA 775 P4 extreme with 800mhz fsb, 2mb cache
1 gb corsair DDR ram at 400mhz
Radeon 9000 pro

ran smooth as silk while rendering an AC3 file
also had another instance of Vegas open (i edit while i render) as well as this thread..
so for a single HT cpu, it works fine..
Oh and i downloaded teh file to C drive, not one of my 7 media drives.. lol

BUT what i wanna know is where the hell did u get the playstation 3 from??
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old January 7th, 2006, 11:51 PM   #69
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
It's a simulation created by Vegas. I didn't actually capture via HDMI.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline  
Old January 8th, 2006, 08:25 AM   #70
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
There an option in vegas to disable DV device control, make sure this is unchecked and it might work manually.
 
Old January 8th, 2006, 01:38 PM   #71
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 263
DVDA & motion blur problem...

Just finished a 1st birthday project which incorporated lots of stills and video (ala minidisks from a Sony dvd camcorder). Everything looks perfect until I author it all with DVDArch 3.0c. Then I get a motion blur/flicker kind of effect on just a few of the mpg2 movies. Checked the info on the ones with problems, they are all interlaced (kept them that way) mpg2 files that seem completely compatible. Except for these few vids, the project is perfect. Any ideas at all? Thanks.
Vin
Vincent Croce is offline  
Old January 8th, 2006, 02:23 PM   #72
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Denver
Posts: 254
find the clips in explorer and right click on them and play media or play in WMP do they look ok? if so try deleting them from the DVDA project then re enter them and render and burn over again

Vince
Vince Debart is offline  
Old January 8th, 2006, 05:31 PM   #73
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Field order is probably the wrong way around for those files.. You wont notice this on a PC screen only a TV screen.
 
Old January 8th, 2006, 06:10 PM   #74
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Lift just the shadows

What would be the best way to lighten shadows
that are too dark, without brightening the
highs and mids?
Dave Largent is offline  
Old January 8th, 2006, 06:16 PM   #75
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Many ways to do it.
Probably the best way is to use the color curves, and make a little 'bump' at the bottom.

Add a tangent point about a quarter of the way from the bottom. Do this by double clicking on the line.
Click on the tangent point to select it. Hit the up key on your keyboard to make the bump.
Play around with the handles to keep highs and mids at the same brightness.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network