Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 50 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 13th, 2006, 11:28 AM   #736
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
moving to beginning or end of clip

Hi folks, Don't know what this is called in Vegas, but I want to be able to move from one clip to the next on the timeline - without having to mouse around and placing the cursor over the end of the clip.

Is this a keyboard shortcut that I don't know? In Saw - you hit the TAB key and it moves the cursor to the next "beginning" or "end" of an event, or region. Shift-Tab moves it the other way, and it's so handy. One click and you are there.

I've looked through all the help files and can't find it. Maybe it's not there, but then again, maybe it's just called something that I don't know.

thanks,
Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:03 PM   #737
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Vegas and HDCam

Does Vegas support HDCam? Thanks.
Glenn Gipson is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:13 PM   #738
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Gipson
Does Vegas support HDCam? Thanks.

I assume this is in regard to the HVX200---the answer is no, but you can use Raylight by Dv Film---I understand that it isn't the most elegant way of working.

http://www.dvfilm.com/raylight/index.htm
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:16 PM   #739
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milt Lee
Hi folks, Don't know what this is called in Vegas, but I want to be able to move from one clip to the next on the timeline - without having to mouse around and placing the cursor over the end of the clip.

Is this a keyboard shortcut that I don't know? In Saw - you hit the TAB key and it moves the cursor to the next "beginning" or "end" of an event, or region. Shift-Tab moves it the other way, and it's so handy. One click and you are there.

I've looked through all the help files and can't find it. Maybe it's not there, but then again, maybe it's just called something that I don't know.

thanks,
Milt

Control-Alt--arrow keys----Just hold the control and alt key down together.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:22 PM   #740
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
I was actually referring to the Sony F900.
Glenn Gipson is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:25 PM   #741
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Gipson
I was actually referring to the Sony F900.
Yes, it does.
Both via firewire from JH3, or as component input from cam directly using a BMD card, which is how we're working with footage from the 700.

As far as P2...http://www.sundancemediagroup.com/ar...sony_vegas.htm
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:25 PM   #742
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Gipson
I was actually referring to the Sony F900.
Yes, it does.
Both via firewire from JH3, or as component input from cam directly using a BMD card, which is how we're working with footage from the 700.

As far as P2... I'll have a tutorial up within the hour.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 12:32 PM   #743
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Wonderful - works like a champ.
Thanks,
M.
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 01:06 PM   #744
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
If you have a ten key, you can also hit 7 or 9, same as Avid. 4/6 nudge, 2/8 move up/down. 0 for preview centered around cursor.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #745
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
DSE and Edward are certainly more knowledgeable on Vegas than I, but if I were to do what you said you are trying to do, I would just finish that project exactly how you want it with all video and audio track set where you need them and SAVE.

Then just open another instance of Vegas, place the new event on the timeline and then add the .veg from the first project and it will place all 4 video and 7 audio tracks in correct spatial order when you render.

I didn't used the nesting feature of Vegas for quite a while after it came out. But after loosing a really big edit, I've learned to do a series of small edits and stitch them together. It may be just a mental thing, but I'm intimidated by large edit projects and breaking things into meaningful chunks make it easier on me. Silly self-induced mental games, but fortunately for me, Vegas mitigates my neuroses.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 01:11 PM   #746
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
Yes, it does.
Both via firewire from JH3, or as component input from cam directly using a BMD card, which is how we're working with footage from the 700.

As far as P2... I'll have a tutorial up within the hour.

Hey Doug, how does the Raylight work---is it cludgy? Also, have you shot with the HVX200---if so, what do you think? I'm thinking of it as an entry level camera into the world of HD.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 01:17 PM   #747
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I don't find Raylight kludgy at all, it's not much different than HDV-CineForm. Native reading would be good.
As far as the cam...I won't comment beyond saying it's not at all what I expected. Chromakey is impossible with this camera. At any setting. 720p30, 720p 60n, 1080i....nada works. The vertical shift is ridiculous to deal with.
We ended up using the A1U footage acquired at the same time.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 03:36 PM   #748
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crested Butte, CO
Posts: 568
Multiple Event Fx windows open

Anyone know of a way to get the Event Fx window to open in more than one instance?

Color matching: I have two clips on two tracks and I'm flipping back and forth using the Solo button to view them. It would be great if either the Event Fx window matched the clip being viewed, or if I could get one Fx window to open for each clip.

Scott
Scott Brickert is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 04:03 PM   #749
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Scott,

I haven't tried this and I'm not on my Vegas machine to give it a spin, but will the EventFX dialog box dock? Can you drag it to the edge of the area where the Trimmer and Transitions tabs are and see if it will latch on and "dock" to become a tab.

I don't think it will because I think all the dockable tabs are specific menu items in the View menu. I don't think you can have two open because it is a 'dialog box' but I cannot confirm that.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old March 13th, 2006, 04:34 PM   #750
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
As far as I know, you can only view the properties for one FX at a time. Here's a interesting solution, though: Open Vegas TWICE and do each image in the separate instances of Vegas. Then you can have both open at once.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network