Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 55 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2006, 11:10 PM   #811
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Thanks Edward,

I knew that there was an easier way!

Regards,

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 15th, 2006, 11:54 PM   #812
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick King
William,

Were you editing MPEG2 by chance?
no I was editing .avi that I had captured from my cam.
William Barber is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 01:15 AM   #813
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waipahu, Hawaii
Posts: 70
broadcast levels

K i have a weird problem that i just cant figure out. I hope that i can make this make sense.

I have both a Vegas 6 system and FCP system that i use for editing.

Now the problem is that when i play back video on the Vegas system, the levels are great on the waveform and vector. They look the same on both FCP and Vegas6 virtual scopes. However, everything that gets cut on FCP looks perfect during broadcast but everything that was cut in Vegas looks underexposed. I cant figure it out.

Same decks, preview monitor, etc ar ebeing used. but they both look different.

Someone know what im talking about?
Gregory Doi is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 01:22 AM   #814
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 36
The Highest Video Bitrate

What is the highest video bitrate I can use in Vegas for render the project.
In TMPGEnc highest video bitrate is 8000 Mbits/sec. Higher valye I can't set.
Another question? 1 hour of video (720x576), audio 224 Mbits/sec and 8000 Mbits/sec video bitrate when render in Vegas takes about 2.5 Gb, but when the same project I frameserver to TMPGEnc and using same parameters for rendering, the final MPEG file is about 3.2 Gb. So what is the point, why bigger MPEG file when rendering with TMPGEnc.That meas higher quality or something else? If it's not, why most of video professionals prefers using TMPGEnc for best encoding even using frameserver in Vegas or Adobe Premiere as well.
Regards.
Zdravko Jancevski is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 01:48 AM   #815
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
I can stretch the event (to a point) but no matter what you enter in the length field it does not seem to make a difference. What am I doing wrong?

Regards,

Dale.

Dale, this is a 2-stage approach:

1/- Enter in your preferred length ( my default is at present 9;29 ) into the box. For me 9;29 up to 40 seconds. Press Enter.

2/- Now S t r e t c h the clip until you get a "notch" on the top edge of the Gen Media. That would now be for me the new length - 40 seconds.

Are you thinking that automatically when you type-in/enter the new length it should "grow" or "shrink" accordingly? Nice idea! But in what direction should it grow/shrink? From the cursor right or left? Or centre around the cursor? Guess it would be do-able, but I've got used to making these "hands-on" decisions and allow Vegas to get real busy with the more complex maths! That's if this is what you were implying

I just tested a typed-in/entered value of 1 hour! Stretched it and the notch came up on the hour.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 03:06 AM   #816
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Thanks a lot for that information.

That length thing has plagued me for years and the documentation on its function does not quite explain it i.e. that is exactly what I thought - enter a value and it would make the event exactly that length which you could then position along the timeline as desired.

Anyway - now I know!

Regards,

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 03:13 AM   #817
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Sorry, I forgot to say thanks to Edward.

I did it and it works perfectly - very smart!

The only problem is that I am not just displaying a 'static' Lower Third (learning all the time) but rather a texture loop created with MainVision and it means that I either have to generate a texture loop the same length of the clip or create a 10 second loop and repeat it for the length of the clip.

Needless to say all of this increases render time in leaps and bounds - but - it works perfectly and looks great.

Thanks.

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 06:03 AM   #818
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
On this topic Edward, I've been meaning to ask how you wrote Excalibur Meida Generator objects and got them to show up in the Media Generator tab under the Text window. I use those Excalibur shortcuts to add text but wish you would also write a few Lower Thirds for quick insertion. Would it be possible to enter a completely new Media Generator object titled Lower Thirds and then create objects in that tabs window. Did you do this by scripting or was this real coding?

Thanks!
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 07:55 AM   #819
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Thanks Brian,

You hit on exactly what I was trying to do. Thanks a million!
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 08:34 AM   #820
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Greg,
It might be that you're needing to apply the broadcast filter? Or maybe you are but shouldn't? Or, convert studio RGB to computer RGB?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 08:38 AM   #821
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
It's my understanding that PC and Mac have different gamma settings. Could this have anything to do with it?

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 08:53 AM   #822
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
It's true, they do, but he should be able to match them using one of the aforementioned methods, if that's the goal.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 09:07 AM   #823
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
I would leave the photos as they are. Vegas does a great job of previewing photos from various sizes. Iím not sure how making DV proxies of photos would help your workflow. It sounds like itís not really necessary to me.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 09:47 AM   #824
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
To be DVD compliant, the combined bitrate, for video and audio, must be under 10mbps.
Robert M Wright is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 12:25 PM   #825
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
How long is the trail? May I suggest that there is a motion blur envelope on the bus....even video supersampling can cause this, I think. Kill envelopes on your bus track.

If the trail is just short, then you're probably just seeing badly deinterlaced motion - the combination of the interlace "comb" will give you a ghost trailing the motion. But it'd only be a small one, so I am gonna go with the motion blur envelope.

DJ
DJ Kinney is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network