Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 56 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2006, 03:26 PM   #826
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waipahu, Hawaii
Posts: 70
Thanks Spot.

I think that helped me get on the right path to fixing the problem. What would be a good preset for the broadcast filter? currently its setup like this.

Luma 0-100
Chroma 100
Composite -33-133
7.5 setup unchecked
studio RGB checked

on the waveform i should leave the 7.5 unchecked as well as the studio RGB?
Gregory Doi is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 05:24 PM   #827
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Thanks John - very helpful. :)
Shawn Redford is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 10:22 PM   #828
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum ???

I got Sony Vegas movie studio platinum as a gift and it's pretty darn complicated. Does anyone know of any training videos that is for beginners? Thank you and GOD bless!

David Ellis
David Ellis is offline  
Old March 16th, 2006, 11:38 PM   #829
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
VASST has a new training DVD available on Vegas Movie Studio, and there is also a book on the application as well.
This forum is a great training resource of coure, too.

http://www.vasst.com is where you'll find the VMS DVD
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 12:07 AM   #830
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hooper, UT
Posts: 177
New Vegas Training DVDs

I got a sneak peak at the new VASST Absolute Vegas training DVDs. WOW! Much more comprehensive than anything I've seen so far for Vegas training and the instructors are the allstars in the Vegas community. DVDs cover just about every Vegas and DVDA topic and come with lots of extras. Vegas Movie Studio is covered too. These are going to be a big hit with the community. Should be available soon.
Randy
Randy Stewart is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 05:41 AM   #831
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Error

I have been attempting to create a .mov file. I've done two successfully, part 1 and part 3 of my demo save as .mov files fine, but when I put all part 1, part 2 and part 3 together and render to a .mov, I get an error saying that Vegas was unable to render or create the 'master.mov' file. When I closed the project after I closed the error, I got this-----------------------------------

Sony Vegas 6.0
Version 6.0c (Build 153)
Exception 0xC0000005 (access violation) READ:0x5C69736E IP:0x5C69736E
In Module 'vegas60.exe' at Address 0x0 + 0x5C69736E
Thread: GUI ID=0x650 Stack=0x12D000-0x130000
Registers:
EAX=2cbb6f70 CS=001b EIP=5c69736e EFLGS=00010202
EBX=28e06008 SS=0023 ESP=0012d0b0 EBP=303453d4
ECX=7c80fecf DS=0023 ESI=3776d788 FS=003b
EDX=375e5f70 ES=0023 EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
5C69736E: .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ........
5C697376: .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ........
Stack Dump:
0012D0B0: 006D507C 00400000 + 2D507C (vegas60.exe)
0012D0B4: 2CBB6F70 2C9B0000 + 206F70
0012D0B8: 3776D788 37510000 + 25D788
0012D0BC: 006D6D48 00400000 + 2D6D48 (vegas60.exe)
0012D0C0: 28E06008 28C70000 + 196008
0012D0C4: 006D2B44 00400000 + 2D2B44 (vegas60.exe)
0012D0C8: 00000001
0012D0CC: 006DD366 00400000 + 2DD366 (vegas60.exe)
0012D0D0: 3776D788 37510000 + 25D788
0012D0D4: 24CCEAF0 24BC0000 + 10EAF0
0012D0D8: 00000000
0012D0DC: 28E06008 28C70000 + 196008
0012D0E0: 006D850F 00400000 + 2D850F (vegas60.exe)
0012D0E4: 24CCEAF0 24BC0000 + 10EAF0
0012D0E8: 303453D4 30120000 + 2253D4
0012D0EC: 3033A288 30120000 + 21A288
> 0012D0FC: 006D8702 00400000 + 2D8702 (vegas60.exe)
- - -
0012FFF0: 00000000
0012FFF4: 00000000
0012FFF8: 0088CD0C 00400000 + 48CD0C (vegas60.exe)
0012FFFC: 00000000



A follow up, I figured it might be part 2 which might be crashing the project, so I rendered it into a .mov. It finished fine. One not about my project, I do have a couple of layers of veg files. I can't imagine thier being a limit on how many veg file levels you can have.

I have sent this to sony, I just figured I'd give the forum a shot in case someone else has had that issue.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?

Last edited by Steven Davis; March 17th, 2006 at 07:05 AM.
Steven Davis is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 06:14 AM   #832
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
I just had another look at this issue and at the Dolby website.

Thanks for the link but I am actually trying to find out about Vegas specifics not Dolby in general.

My points are:

1) Your original audio track(s) - would normally be normalized to -3 dB. Must this still be done or should they be normalized to 0 dB because in points 2 and 3 below they are attenuated by -3 dB or -6 dB depending upon the answers to points 2 and 3?

2) The type of Surround Panner that you use - you are aware of the different options. What is confusing me - if you use the Balance (-3 dB Center) for example is the sound at the 'theoretical' or 'virtual' center attenuated by -6 dB i.e. -3 dB from first point above + another -3dB from panner = -6 dB or is it still -3 dB? Should you always use Add Channels (0 dB Center) because when rendering the center channel is the attenuated by -3 dB as in point 3 below? Is that how it works?

And then still more:

3) When rendering with CML and SML set to -3 dB is the center mix level then -9 dB i.e. -3 dB + -3 dB + render setting of -3 dB or will it still be just -3 dB?

In other words are all of these options independant of each other or are they combined and the sum of all of them taken into account when creating the final output?

Something else that has confused me somewhat:

Is creating a .AC3 file (5 mono tracks + 1 LFE in one file) from within Vegas and importing into DVDA the same as creating 6 x mono tracks from within Vegas and importing the 6 mono tracks into DVDA? I'm not sure but I think that this may be a stupid question because by importing 6 different mono tracks into DVDA is DVDA not going to see each of those tracks as an additional audio track for selection by the viewer (like having PCM Stereo, AC3 Stereo, and 5.1 Surround on the same DVD)? Just need to be sure of my logic here!

Regards,

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 08:28 AM   #833
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
First, I'd recommend upgrading to 6d.
Second, there are a variety of issues, it could be you've got something in one of your veg files that's hanging, and causing the render to fail. As for the number of veg files, there are rumors that there is a limit, but I've not experienced that and so can't agree with the rumors that there is a limit.
Heat is another issue, MPEG and some formats contained in QT will generate a lot of CPU horsepower and heat. Be sure over heating isn't your issue.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 08:31 AM   #834
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
Is creating a .AC3 file (5 mono tracks + 1 LFE in one file) from within Vegas and importing into DVDA the same as creating 6 x mono tracks from within Vegas and importing the 6 mono tracks into DVDA? I'm not sure but I think that this may be a stupid question because by importing 6 different mono tracks into DVDA is DVDA not going to see each of those tracks as an additional audio track for selection by the viewer (like having PCM Stereo, AC3 Stereo, and 5.1 Surround on the same DVD)? Just need to be sure of my logic here!
No, it is not the same. If you use the WAV files created by Vegas in DVDA, you will have a PCM soundtrack. If you use the AC3 file instead, you will have a Dolby Digital soundtrack. The purpose of having the option of creating separate PCM tracks in Vegas is to be able to use a different encoder, such as for creating DTS files.
Emre Safak is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 08:42 AM   #835
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson

1) Your original audio track(s) - would normally be normalized to -3 dB. Must this still be done or should they be normalized to 0 dB because in points 2 and 3 below they are attenuated by -3 dB or -6 dB depending upon the answers to points 2 and 3?
I don't normalize very often, and it's not necessary to do so if you recorded correctly, so not sure why you're bringing normalize into the workflow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
2) The type of Surround Panner that you use - you are aware of the different options. What is confusing me - if you use the Balance (-3 dB Center) for example is the sound at the 'theoretical' or 'virtual' center attenuated by -6 dB i.e. -3 dB from first point above + another -3dB from panner = -6 dB or is it still -3 dB? Should you always use Add Channels (0 dB Center) because when rendering the center channel is the attenuated by -3 dB as in point 3 below? Is that how it works?
No, it's not quite that way. The bottom line is what you hear is what you get. Do you want all your channels to "start" at -3dB and in the center? Center is an actual speaker, and nothing should be in the center channel except main dialog.

And then still more:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
3) When rendering with CML and SML set to -3 dB is the center mix level then -9 dB i.e. -3 dB + -3 dB + render setting of -3 dB or will it still be just -3 dB?
What you hear is what you get. Have you attempted or practiced any surround at all? Mixing by numbers is like painting by numbers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
In other words are all of these options independant of each other or are they combined and the sum of all of them taken into account when creating the final output?
Both. It depends on the positioning of the sound and the amount of power applied to it at a given position.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Paterson
Something else that has confused me somewhat:

Is creating a .AC3 file (5 mono tracks + 1 LFE in one file) from within Vegas and importing into DVDA the same as creating 6 x mono tracks from within Vegas and importing the 6 mono tracks into DVDA? I'm not sure but I think that this may be a stupid question because by importing 6 different mono tracks into DVDA is DVDA not going to see each of those tracks as an additional audio track for selection by the viewer (like having PCM Stereo, AC3 Stereo, and 5.1 Surround on the same DVD)? Just need to be sure of my logic here!

Regards,

Dale.
DVDA doesn't see them as 6 mono files. It sees them as one file, 6 channels, packaged with headers and routing information along with normalizing information. Why on earth would you have PCM stereo AND AC3 stereo? Average viewers won't know the difference. If you're putting PCM on the DVD for a band's music that's one thing. But offering an entire program in both is not beneficial to anyone and uses unnecessary bits. And yes, you can have a surround version and a stereo version on the same disc, referencing the same video file. DVDA sees both the stereo file and the 6 channel file as a single file. That's part of what AC3 encoding does, it muxes the 6 to one file that makes sense to DVDA and the DVD player/decoder.
Set up a surround system. Play with it. Make yourself ill with it, learn the techniques through practice and then ask the questions. Read Jeff Fishers book on surround or Tom Holman's book on surround. Vegas manages surround the way Dolby requires it to. Dolby governs what the encoder can and can't do. Which is why it's beneficial to understand Dolby's parameters and limitations
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 08:55 AM   #836
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Thanks Doug

I was doing some googling and didn't find a solid consistent issue, the project is heavy on graphics, you can see part one of it on my homepage droptodesign.com, the second part is like bradybunch window display of video, the project has mpeg video as well as raw video and nested veges, so I might have to redo a lot of it to lighten the load so to speak.

I just thought it was odd that the mpeg2 would render, but the .mov is crashing. I do thank you for your help. This thing is only 6 minutes long but takes more than 3 hours of rendering before crashing. I'll try and watch it to see where it crashes.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 09:01 AM   #837
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
it could be you've got something in one of your veg files that's hanging, and causing the render to fail.

Hey Doug, would it be worth rendering each part from the master layout? i.e. selecting it, Or do you think I would get the same result (which is successful) of rendering each individual veg from it's own layout.

I did like your input about the heat, i'll watch that too.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 11:35 AM   #838
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 200
Thanks for the in-depth reply.

Have I tried any surround mixing at all - yes and no.

Yes - with stereo as it comes from the camera - I always put PCM Stereo, AC3 Stereo, and 5.1 Surround on a DVD (PCM Stereo because I have come across one or two players and cheap surround systems that for some or the other reason either would not play the AC3 streams or sounded lousy unless PCM Stereo was selected - although this is by no means the norm). Doing it this way though is by no means creative or an art - which is what I am trying to learn now.

No - not with individual mics for each channel, mixer, etc. etc. and still waiting for my 6 (should have been 5) mics!

And I AWLAYS normalize my tracks - just to be sure that an entire compilation has the same levels - not because they were badly recorded - as a matter of fact they are always pretty close to -3 dB the way I do things - just doing it to be sure.

Dale.
Dale Paterson is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 03:08 PM   #839
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 36
DV Codec Setup

How can I setup what codec to use when I capture video from my DV camera.
First I have instal Panasonic DV codec and when I was capture with "Scenaalyzer live", video was captured with this codec. Then I've install Canopus HQ codec but still Scenaalyzer was capture with Panasonic DV codec. Last day I was install Cedocida DV codec and now all captured material are with this codec.When I try to open DV AVI files captured with this codec TMPGEnc don't recognise this codec (black screen). I wonder, how I can manage which codec I want to use when I capture the video. In these capturing programs that I've tryed there is no option to choose which video codec to use like program for analog capturing.
Which of these three codec is best for capturing.Maybe some other codec I should use for best video quality.
Regards.
Zdravko Jancevski is offline  
Old March 17th, 2006, 03:13 PM   #840
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 121
Hello Douglas,

I would like to get the "Absolute Training series for Sony Vegas" and use VMS Platinum until I upgrade to the full version of Vegas.

Will VMS Platinum hold up?

Thanks,

Frank
Frank Grygier is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network