Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q1Q2) - Page 87 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2006, 10:00 AM   #1291
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Collingswood, NJ
Posts: 99
Thanks, DSE. That worked. Disk was a copy of my own video so it wasn't write protected. I tried 3 disks, all failed but if I copied VOBs to HD then it went well. In fact, surprisingly smooth playback.

Its a nice feature of Vegas.
Charley Gallagher is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 02:21 PM   #1292
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Hey Edward,

I'm waiting for my next wedding to roll through, I'll probably get Excalibur at that point. I was watching the demo yesterday. Thanks as always.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 05:20 PM   #1293
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Special...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Jefferson

Also, V7 is going to HAVE to be something special... very special..
V6 brought VGA/secondary display preview and a media manager.

V7 brings... DVCPRO-HD support?

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 08:43 PM   #1294
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Tablet/pen vs. mouse in Vegas

Does anyone use a tablet and pen to edit in Vegas instead of a mouse. I am editing so much I have to soak my wrist at night - even using a very good optical mouse.

I see several (like the Wacom brand) through searches and I remember Gary Kleiner saying on his Vegas Companion series that he uses a type of pen/tablet for more precise editing. I just don't remember what he used or what brand would be optimized for editing (if any) with an NLE.

Thanks for any input!
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 10:27 PM   #1295
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 375
But no Vegas 7?

Surely that was the plan, no?
Mark Kubat is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 12:00 AM   #1296
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
There are doctors, physical therapists and ergonomists who specialize in repetitive motion injuries. You should consider seeking out their advice. Losing use of your hand due to inflammation and pain is serious business.

You do need to get alternative input devices - you're on the right track with a tablet, but don't stop there. Get a trackball too. And a track pad - they're not just for laptops, you can get a USB version too.

Alternate between the devices and don't touch your mouse for at least two weeks. I think Kleiner is using a Wacom, but no, there aren't any tablets specialized for editing. Some of them are programmable so that a click in a specific spot runs a keyboard macro which could be handy if you want to spend the time setting it up for common tasks.

I have a Logitech Trackman Wheel trackball as my primary mouse, it's great, but I also alternate with a track pad. And I use every possible keyboard shortcut I can. A couple encounters with an inflamed wrist were enough for me.

Check out the sticky thread above entitled "Quick reference: Vegas shortcuts and mouse gestures 1.0b" as well as the Vegas help file for keyboard shortcuts.
Seth Bloombaum is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 01:10 AM   #1297
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 23
Cannot bring Fujifilm AVI into Vegas

What am I doing wrong this time?

I am simply trying to add an AVI that was shot by a digital still camera. It's only 320 x 240 pixels and 10 frames/sec but it should work shouldn't it? I can play it just fine in Windows Media Player.

When I drag it to Vegas though all I get is a flat line audio track...no video track at all.

I am a bit sleepy, so maybe I am missing something very simple here.

Thanks again in advance guys,

Jim
Jim Hawley is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 01:16 AM   #1298
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mauriceville, TX
Posts: 146
Thanks for the advice Seth. I'll look into what you mentioned.
Brandon Wood is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 01:19 AM   #1299
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Hi Jim,
More than likely, you've got an MJPEG codec from the camera, and you need an MJPEG codec installed on your system for Vegas to properly read it.
You'll find links to several on the Vegas FAQ.
http://www.vasst.com/training/vegasfaq.htm
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 01:23 AM   #1300
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Carney
1.Technology preview of XDCAM HD support in Vegas
2. Cinescore, a new software based soundtrack creation platform
3. New stuff for UMD.
It pays to read.
Thanks Joe for passing along this info. I hope that these is more news on Vegas at some point. For anyone who is unfamiliar with UMD, here's a start: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Media_Disc
Shawn Redford is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 07:34 AM   #1301
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
New Vegas user...... :)

I made the switch to Vegas and so far I couldn't be happier. I was using Pinnacle Studio 10plus and Liquid Edition 5.5. They both would lock up so much I spent most of my editing time re-booting. I bouth one training DVD which I have gone through. I would be interested in trading mine with someone else for additional training.
Richard Bender is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 07:48 AM   #1302
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
color correction quetion

To correct color for a section of a clip do you have to split it or is there away to select only the section to apply the correction to?
Richard Bender is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 08:27 AM   #1303
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
You could use keyframes. Just set a keyframe at the point where you want the color correction to start and another where you want it to end. Make sure all the keyframes are set to Hold so that they turn on and off like a switch.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 10:32 AM   #1304
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Media Manager Will Not Open

Everytime I open Vegas it tries to open the media manager database, and it always fails. I've searched for an answer, but I've only found stuff related to My SQL errors, which I don't have.

Any ideas?
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline  
Old April 24th, 2006, 10:36 AM   #1305
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Maybe advanced capture orginization similar to FCP?
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network