Thumbnails in timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2010, 11:01 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,209
Thumbnails in timeline

Just a quick question

I brought an 8 min MOV clip into Vegas and it looks just fine. Only problem is that it only shows a frame shot/thumbnail in the timeline every 4 minutes - begining/middle/end sort of.

I'm used to there being as many frame thumbnails as will fit and it would certainly be easier to find the sections I want if this were the case.

Vegas 9 on Win XP64. i7 processor, 12 GB of memory.

Any way to get it to show more thumbnails?
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 12:21 AM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,547
Try/check this Preference setting first:

Options | Preferences | Video (tab) | "Thumbnails to show in video events" choose "ALL"

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 12:52 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,276
Hi Jim

Graham is 100% correct. Vegas defaults to beginning/middle/end in preferences. Just change it and you will be delighted. First thing I did in Version 9 (apart from also disabling the media options so they don't go "offline" when you minimise the program!!) That was a real pain!!!! Every time I minimised to create some music clips my media was disabled when I came back to Vegas!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 01:43 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,209
Thanks guys! I had missed that one when I was fumbling about.

By the way - where is the option to keep clips from going offline?
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 02:55 AM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,547
Need a bit more detail:

When does it happen?

What format are you using?

What are your Project Settings?

My files go offline when I move them around on my drives. Have you done that? Have you recently re-installed, and moved veggies and media? Your previous post makes me think you've done something radical.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 02:58 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,276
Hi Jim

In Preferences under General..Uncheck options 3 and 4 ...otherwise it closes the media files when Vegas is not active!! 3 is for Video and 4 is for Audio so uncheck both!!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 03:46 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,209
Chris - thanks much - got it.

Graham - Hadn't had any problem yet - just wanted to avoid one that had been mentioned.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network