Upgrade Time and Confused! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
Upgrade Time and Confused!

I am ready to upgrade my PC and I have read so many comments on the best way to go, I am thoroughly confused.

I presently run Vegas8.0C 8 bit on a 32 bit XP machine. I edit mostly standard DV, but have started editing HDV and AVCHD(use Neoscene to convert). I am planning on upgrading to an i7, but that is where the questions begin:

1. Do I need to upgrade to i7 860 or 920?
2. Do I want to stay on XP? 32 bit or 64 bit?
3. Do I move up to Windows7, 32 bit or 64 bit?
4. Should the system have more than the 2 Gig memory as suggested by Sony?
5. Are there any improvements in the later versions of Vegas that suggest I upgrade to 9?

I plan on building the system, so I don't fear hardware He!!.

I have read that the 860 is more economical, but at what expense of performance?
What is the real benefit of converting to Vegas 64 bit?
If I convert to Vegas 64 bit, will I be able to review my old files?

Sure could use some expert guidance.

Chris
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:29 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barnes View Post
If I convert to Vegas 64 bit, will I be able to review my old files?
As long as any plug-ins you use also have a 64-bit version, yes you will.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:31 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Personally, I'd move to Win7-64 bit at this time. Your VEG files are sharable between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions. I like the 64-bit version - just be aware that not all plugins work in the 64-bit version. I don't know if you have any plugins that fit that category.

I didn't like Vegas Pro 8.1 as it had many issues for me. However the 64-bit version of Vegas Pro 9 resolved the specific issues I had (i.e. 8.1 would not print to tape to my DV deck and 9 does)

I would also get more that 2Gig of ram - especially if running Win7-64. Even the 32-bit version of Vegas can access up to 2Gig so you'd have additional memory for any other applications that are running.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:37 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
More Memory

Edward,

If I chose the i7 920 with triple channel memory, does that mean to use 6Gigs of ram?
Chris Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:51 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm not a chip person but I would say the two would not correlate that way.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network