Pc stops processing on render with vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2010, 12:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 212
Pc stops processing on render with vegas

Does this happen to you..

I have a 3-minute clip, all of them have : New blue fx, and brightness and contrast.
When I render, the processor stalls, and the render dialog box continues to indicate the time remaining but nothin really is hapening.

I wonder if this happens to you guys

intel core: i7, RAM 8GB,graphics 1.5G Ram,
__________________
Bay Area Wedding Videographerwww.reb6studios.com
Sigmund Reboquio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 12:32 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Well... you have a lot of unstated variables there.

You mention a 3-minute clip. What kind of clip? What kind of project? What format are you rendering to?

Then you mention NewBlueFX - which one? They have about 15 different packages with multiple effects per package - not counting bundled products.

As for "Brightness and Contrast" - I would take that off - you should virtually NEVER use that effect as there are other effects that will do a MUCH better job.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 12:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 212
Hi Edward,

It is 3-minute clip of 1080x720, wmv project.
NewblufX film look is what I used.
i used brightness and contrast coz i thought, it would be less heavy for my pc to render this effect instead of a new blue.

Good point on not using brightness and contrast.

Now, I dont know what to do, besides rendering it in pieces (which is pain the )
__________________
Bay Area Wedding Videographerwww.reb6studios.com
Sigmund Reboquio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 01:13 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've not seen any issues with Film Look and I typically would use Color Curves and/or the Color Corrector (primary or secondary) to adjust "brightness and contrast"

So the source clip is WMV? Or you're rendering to WMV and the source is something else?

What if you render to some other format. Does that work?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 212
render to wmv

I dont know about color curves or brightness and contrast, all i know is the more we put stuffs in them the more render times or worst not render at all.

Im still finding out, why sony doesnt allow us to render easy with these plugins combined
(assuming we all comply with system requirements)
__________________
Bay Area Wedding Videographerwww.reb6studios.com
Sigmund Reboquio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 06:00 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Encinitas California
Posts: 121
what version of Vegas? I always edit in 8c, but rending with 8c often results in just what you've described. So I now always render in 9b or 9c, 64 bits - after I finish all editing in 8c (32 bits, of course). I do all this in Win 7-64bits.

I also try to keep only one codec on the timeline for all clips. Usually I create intermediates using PicVideo or Cineform first for all clips before loading them onto the timeline in 8c.

I also improved stability by placing all my video files from one camera on a 2-cam shoot onto one hard disk, all from the other camera on another hard disk, and all stills on a third hard disk. By doing that, crossfades etc. don't drive the hard disk heads into a frenzy as would be the case if I put everything onto a single hard disk.

So far, by following the above procedures, I've tamed my once-terrible rendering problems.
Larry Reavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 12:05 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigmund Reboquio View Post
When I render, the processor stalls, and the render dialog box continues to indicate the time remaining but nothin really is hapening.
here is a fix to your problem:
Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Movie Studio Messages
This is a Windows problem: 2GB and larger files cannot be processed under default settings. The fix worked for me.
Good luck.
Stanley Szpala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 11:43 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanley Szpala View Post
here is a fix to your problem:
Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Movie Studio Messages
This is a Windows problem: 2GB and larger files cannot be processed under default settings. The fix worked for me.
Good luck.
This fix is for Movie Studio, anyone tried it with the Pro version?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network