Sony Vegas 9 and Movie Maker 9 rather slow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2010, 06:14 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 2
Sony Vegas 9 and Movie Maker 9 rather slow

Hello all, I am new to this so i will keep this short and to the point:

I have Vegas 9 Pro, and Movie Maker Studio Platinum Pro. The Movie maker program is on my desktop, which is an XP (32 bit I think) with 4 GB of RAM. The limit of RAM usage on the program says only 1024 MB however, and I am confused as to why....

Also, I have Vegas 9 on my Laptop (Vista 64 premium, 4 GB ram). The RAM limit is 4096 mb on there, however things are still kinda jittery.

Basically it seems like I need a LOT more RAM, but the tech. specs for both programs say I'm good........


Like I said, I am new to this. I am a music producer that is taking a dive into video, and I really want to get a good foundation before I start getting serious.


Any suggestions are appreciated :)

P.S. as I said I produce music, and have made a good living doing so...anyone need ambience or sound effects for their films?
Charlie Mauk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 07:28 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
My first question is why not have Pro 9 and Platinum Pro on both machines?
It would make things much easier if you had to work on one project on both machines.
BTW, this is perfectly legal with Sony as long as you're not running Vegas on both machines at once.

What kind of CPU do you have?
Are you using a separate drive for your Vegas clips?
What kind of footage is on your timeline?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 08:23 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 2
the reason I dont have vegas on boht machines is I really dont think Vegas will run real good on my desktop, since XP only allows 3.7 GB of ram to be used....ever. I have it on my Vista Laptop.

Footage: high-def .wmv, hdv, etc


I didnt know I should have a separate drive...? (seems kinda silly)

idk...I like Vegas a lot more than the other program. I am catching on quick :)

I guess, in general Im wondering if there are any settings in preferences that might make it run just a little faster. Im just concerned that when im editing and a lot is going on in the time line at a high rate of speed, that the image run smoothly.

MY CPU is an Intel Centrino Dual Core
Charlie Mauk is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network