Vegas Pro 9.0d released - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2010, 03:44 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
OK with by me

I took the plunge and I am thrilled!
1. No more red clips.
2. Fantastic improvement of picture quality on secondary monitor.

Otherwise flawless playback speed at 24fps Best(Full) opposed to 9c where I experienced at times slowdowns.

I loaded a 30 minute project with many layers of sound tracks, 720p, no issues.

I'm happy (so far).
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline  
Old April 12th, 2010, 06:19 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland, Ayr www.amour weddingvideos.co.uk
Posts: 304
Ive submitted a support ticket with Sony, will let you know what happens.
Paul are you using cineform or magic bullet? are you using vegas 64bit or 32 bit
There must be a reason for the issues some people are having.
cheers john
__________________
john estcourt
www.amourweddingvideos.co.uk
John Estcourt is offline  
Old April 12th, 2010, 06:51 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Fierlinger View Post
I took the plunge and I am thrilled!
1. No more red clips.
2. Fantastic improvement of picture quality on secondary monitor.

Otherwise flawless playback speed at 24fps Best(Full) opposed to 9c where I experienced at times slowdowns.

I loaded a 30 minute project with many layers of sound tracks, 720p, no issues.

I'm happy (so far).
What kind of footage is that 720p? m2t?
Brian Luce is offline  
Old April 12th, 2010, 07:42 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Wow, lots of new features and improvements. I was not expecting so much in this release. Thanks Sony.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline  
Old April 12th, 2010, 07:43 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
No problems upgrading either 32 bit version or 64 bit version . My system running Vista 64. Both version loaded quickly and loaded all the list of veg files under the file menu carried over from 9.0c Haven't tried much else since the veg's contained both HDV , AVCHD ( 1440 and 1920x1080) and there were a few veg files of just audio mixing. All seemed to work just fine.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline  
Old April 12th, 2010, 08:53 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Estcourt View Post
Ive submitted a support ticket with Sony, will let you know what happens.
Paul are you using cineform or magic bullet? are you using vegas 64bit or 32 bit
There must be a reason for the issues some people are having.
cheers john
John & Brian,
I'm importing uncompressed 720p Avi's (for easier playback in Vegas) which I render from the original 1080p BMP files generated in an animation application (TVPaint) so there is no camera involved in my pipeline. I'm using Vegas 32 bit and most of my sound tracks are WAV forms but occasionally I use Mp3 tracks too.
__________________
Paul
Paul Fierlinger is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 05:59 AM   #22
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aylesbury. UK.
Posts: 12
Vegas Pro 9d problems with Cineform clips, and rendering.

<< Moved to Cineform forum, to avoid cross-posting.. >>

Last edited by Robert Gadsdon; April 13th, 2010 at 07:17 AM.
Robert Gadsdon is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 10:33 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ravenna, OH
Posts: 198
Watching this thread with much interest, in the middle of two projects so can't take the plunge now...
Thomas Moore is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 02:29 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Cannot use multiple instances

I am no longer able to edit with 9d using my favorite editing style of using multiple instances of Vegas as scene bins and constructing the story by cut and pasting from the scene bins into the main time line.

With previous versions of Vegas I could rapidly scroll through my scene bins, but with 9d 64 bit one must wait for some time after shifting from one instance of Vegas to another before that instance will respond and then scrolling rapidly through it will cause it to hang up. There are no problems scrolling through the timeline with only one instance open.

I did not install 9d 32 bit and can still open the scene bins and scroll rapidly through them with 9c 32 bit.

I do like the improved pre-view image and the new white balance tool, but if losing the ability to edit using multiple instances of Vegas is the price that one must pay for this, I am very unhappy and will be re-installing 9c 64 bit.
__________________
Willard
http://pawildlifephotographer.blogspot.com/
Willard Hill is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 08:03 PM   #25
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kula, Hawaii
Posts: 21
Sony is losing it...

For as much as I like and prefer Vegas, Sony is losing it. 9.0d 64bit gives memory errors, red screens, and refuses to render my usual converted AVCHD (converted to wmv by VotaicHD) mixed with stills so, after
an unpleasant half-day I uninstalled 9.0d and reinstalled 9.0c 64bit and now, at least, it works. I'm glad I don't depend on Sony Vegas for a living.
So much for my expectation of improvement!
Neal Wagner is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 08:41 PM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
9.0d 64bit gives memory errors, red screens...

That's not what I'm reading on this and other forums.
Most users are cheering because memory errors and red screens are finally gone.

...and refuses to render my usual converted AVCHD (converted to wmv by VotaicHD) mixed with stills...

WMV??
I've always found that it's one of the harder formats to edit, even in SD :-(
I'm sure you have a reason for doing it but I have to ask why you're converting to WMV when there are inexpensive proxy tools that would make your life much easier.
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 09:05 PM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
I have to agree with Mike, why are you converting AVCHD? I have been editing AVCHD native since Pro 8. It is not full resolution but more than adequate for editing. On my Q9450 I get smooth editing at about SD resolution and Pro 9 is about the same. If you really need to convert use Cineform at least it will then run faster if you have the disc speed.
9.0d upgraded for me really smooth.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline  
Old April 13th, 2010, 09:05 PM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
I set a restore point this morning in case I needed to back to Rev. C and installed both the 32 and 64-bit versions of Rev. D. My OS is Vista 64-bit. I have spent all day testing both the 32 and 64-bit versions with a wide variety of .veg files from past projects and have had no problems. One of the new features that I really like is the ability to load layered Photoshop files across tracks.
Jim Snow is offline  
Old April 14th, 2010, 05:38 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 190
9d... taking the plunge

Hello,

I downloaded 9d last night, having until now been a confirmed and unshakeable fan of 8.0c. Prior trial versions of 9 didn't work well for me.

Such testing as I've managed to do so far indicate that 9d loads projects at least as fast as 8c, and plays back full HD AVCHD a bit quicker (eg solid 25fps on a clip with some colour correction, whereas 8c was hovering around the indicated 22fps or thereabouts on the same clip).

No crashes yet but early days... this is the 64 bit version running on Vista on a Dell XPS Core i7 920.
David Johns is offline  
Old April 14th, 2010, 05:47 AM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 190
Pah!

Well, that last post of mine was prophetic, in a bad way. No sooner had I posted it than Vegas 9d locked up trying to open an HDV project that I'd finished yesterday (in 8c) ... I think it's trying to do *something* because the %age progress indicator changes occasionally, but essentially it's as if the PC has locked up.

Ah well, I never minded the 8c colour scheme anyway :-)

Regards
David

PS Update: several minutes later the file HAS opened and Vegas 9d is running and playing the project like a charm. Weird
David Johns is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network