support for avchd 720 lines in Movie Studio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 24th, 2010, 04:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Posts: 57
support for avchd 720 lines in Movie Studio?

hi, believe Movie Studio Platinum 9.0b doesn't allow importing avchd in 720 line resolution. I'm thinking about buying this water-proof camcorder:
Sanyo Xacti CA9; the video format:
ISO standard MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 (.MP4), HD-SHQ: 1280 x 720 (30 fps/ 9Mbps).

Is there any easy way around this problem?
__________________
Canon Vixia HF200
Vegas Studio HD Platinum 10.0 running on AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz CPU

Last edited by Stanley Szpala; April 24th, 2010 at 04:48 PM. Reason: more info
Stanley Szpala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 07:59 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Have you tried it? I see no reason why it would not import it assuming the proper codec is available. If they have some sample clips perhaps you could download one and test it before you buy one.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 09:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
I think you're good to go...

I went to Vimeo and did a search for 'Sanyo Xacti CA9'.
The most recent clip so tagged was found here:

I downloaded the original clip and verified with VLC that it is 1280 x 720 29.97 fps ~9 Mbps MPEG4.
I created a quickie project and dropped the video into the Vegas Movie Studio 9 Pro Pack timeline.
It previews just fine.

I then dropped a media effect on it (Brightness + Contrast) and tweaked slightly for grins.
It's rendering as I write this. So IMO it works just fine with this camera.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 09:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanley Szpala View Post
hi, believe Movie Studio Platinum 9.0b doesn't allow importing avchd in 720 line resolution. I'm thinking about buying this water-proof camcorder:
Sanyo Xacti CA9; the video format:
ISO standard MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 (.MP4), HD-SHQ: 1280 x 720 (30 fps/ 9Mbps).

Is there any easy way around this problem?
Not really. Vegas Movie Studio Platinum does not natively support 720-line HD video at all. If it even allows the import of 720p video, it will try to convert it to 1080i.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 10:45 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sutton, Australia
Posts: 328
Can't speak for H264 720, but VMSP 9 with the addition of a Mainconcept MJPEG codec, (which is free but unless you paid for it would put a watermark on output if you actually wanted to output in this format) happily runs 720 30p MJPEG footage from my Canon TX1, so I suspect it would also handle H264 720p with the right codec.
Rainer Listing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2010, 01:30 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Koehler View Post
I went to Vimeo and did a search for 'Sanyo Xacti CA9'.
The most recent clip so tagged was found here:
I downloaded the original clip and verified with VLC that it is 1280 x 720 29.97 fps ~9 Mbps MPEG4.
I created a quickie project and dropped the video into the Vegas Movie Studio 9 Pro Pack timeline.
It previews just fine.

I then dropped a media effect on it (Brightness + Contrast) and tweaked slightly for grins.
It's rendering as I write this. So IMO it works just fine with this camera.
thanks, I just tried it after reading your post: Movie Studio indeed imports these files without problems. Although you can't save the final clip in the same format, it upscales to 1080 pretty nicely. I probably would want to upscale it anyway, so it all works fine.
__________________
Canon Vixia HF200
Vegas Studio HD Platinum 10.0 running on AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz CPU
Stanley Szpala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network