Firewire frustration... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2010, 12:28 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Firewire frustration...

Hi to all,
please, anyone, help me stop going grey.
64bit Win 7 Firewire wont work, in Vegas, Blackmagic, Cineform, Nero, all dead. I can control the HV20- start stop fast forward etc, but it captures nothing ( black screen in Vegas, device error in Cineform).
Have updated drivers, tried outdated Legacy drivers, to no avail.
Have searched Google and came up with zip. My "google fu" is apparently weak.
The most frustrating thing is it works fine on the XP boot. Im just sick of rebooting to capture stuff.

If there was an icon with a man begging for help, it would go here.
:)
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 01:56 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Gerald, you could try installing the legacy driver for your firewire card. No promise that this will work but I think it's well worth a try. I believe it has worked for others but not sure about the 64-bit aspect in your case.

Right click on 'Computer' ->Manage->Device Manager->IEE1394 Bus Host Controllers->select your card->right click->Update driver software->Browse my computer for driver software->Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer->select the driver with (LEGACY) after it's name->Next->Finish.

Apologies if any of these steps aren't exactly right. Good luck.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 02:34 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Gerald.................

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerald Webb View Post
where are all the rocket scientists?
We're all sitting back and watching you early adopters get cut to ribbons on the bleeding edge of technology, that's where we are, can you blame us?

I personally won't touch that stuff for another year, till it has worked out the inevitable myriad bugs that happen EVERY TIME they bring out a new operating system/ platform.

Best advice I can offer - buy an el cheapo XP system ( gotta be a dime a dozen now) and hook it into your home network, do the capture on that to a network drive and edit it on your new 2, 4 or 8 pot screamer.

Hey, if you can't beat 'em..............


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 04:32 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
thanks guys,
Ian, yeah, already tried that. no go.
Chris, yes mate, im laughing at me too, I try to keep right up with the latest gear, and there's always some reason I need to keep an XP boot on my system, I just cant get away from it, I feel like Al Pacino..
" Just when I think I'm out, they drag me back in".
Not that I mind XP, I actually love it, so snappy and all, I just want 64bit speed.
I just cant believe that I'm the only one to have this problem.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 04:37 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
How about trying a post on a board that's specific for your camera, just to see if other users have had the problem with Win7/64bit and video capture. Worth a shot!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 10:35 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
I have no answer, but you are not alone with this problem.

I am running a Dell XPS 9000 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, and like you had camera control but no capture. The Legacy Driver fix did work for me, so I don't know what other options if any there are. There is at least one thread about this on the XH-A1 forum. I don't have an XH-A1, but read all I could find on the problem. (I use a Sony HVR-A1U to capture HDV from tapes shot at 60i on an XL-H1), but it didn't work with other cameras as well.
__________________
Willard
http://pawildlifephotographer.blogspot.com/
Willard Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 12:07 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Okay, I am going to state an obvious thing, that some of us sometimes forget when we are using our HDV cams to capture from. I do it with the HV20 some times. When I shoot HDV on the HV20, I occasionally want to capture it as SD DV. You have to select that in the menu, effectively disabling HDV output to the firewire. Easy process. But when the next capture session comes around I forget to change it back. Most of the capture systems that capture HDV are HDV only (Vegas, Cineform, are my experiences) and when the HV20 is set to SD DV output, it reacts the way your are describing. Just check and make sure that setting is right. That may be all that is wrong.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 12:26 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Chris,

right on with that post!!!!!


However, I did have this problem on all thrre computers, Ultimately I had to find a partiular haupage driver, down load it and now all programs work perfectly!!!


Also, I have had one capture device interfer with other capture devices. An example of this is scenalyzer, a great little program that can cause greif outside of its own little world!!!


Seems it NEVER ENDS!!


Dale
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 07:37 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Chris,

Yes, I have done that too , but this was not the case with the Windows 7 capture issue that I had. I definitely cannot capture HDV with the Windows 7 firewire drivers. I agree that your point is the first thing one should check out when having HDV capture problems, it is easy to overlook.
__________________
Willard
http://pawildlifephotographer.blogspot.com/
Willard Hill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network