Platinum vs Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2010, 11:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
Platinum vs Pro

On the Sony site, the differences between the two appear to be, for my needs anyway, insignificant. However, browsing this and other sites I'm beginning to get the idea that there are a lot more differences then what is stated on the Sony site.

I am purely rank amateur with no intentions or ambitions of becoming professional. My editing needs are somewhat complex in that the end results are often abstract (transitions, grading, effects, etc).

I'm in the process of building a new system and would like to get an idea if the Pro version makes any sense for me. So far, Platinum is quite sufficient, but that could change (or not).

Thanks,
Burt
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 12:25 PM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
What is your question?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 01:19 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Major differences to me:

Unlimited tracks (VMS 10 has upped this to 10 video and 10 audio max - older versions limited it to 4 each)

File - Render As - CUSTOM button works in Pro where it doesn't on many renderers in VMS.

SCRIPTING - the ability to run scripts is only in Pro and they can really save you time and simplify the editing process

Multi-cam features (although I use scripting for this)

More track compositing options

Pan/Crop Bezier masking

etc...
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 04:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
What about configuring the product for your cpu? I've read post stating that threads can be adjusted and memory reassigned (whatever that means). That sort of thing.
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 07:53 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I don't have VMS so I don't know exactly which settings are available there for that. The two main settings are "Number of Rendering Threads" and "RAM Preview" which are definitely in Pro - not sure about VMS but would suspect they are there.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 02:07 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
I saw a post on Eugenia's blog about grading where she says that she has more options for color grading on pro then platinum. This is not listed on Sony's website. I'd like to know what other "options" are available in pro that are not in platinum.

Thanks,
Burt
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 06:20 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I believe the new version just added one of the color correction tools that was previously only in the Pro version. It appears the secondary color corrector is now in VMS.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2010, 05:45 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
I just upgraded from Platinum 9b to version 10 and the differences are legion.
They've got rid of the awful trimmer pane and made it a proper preview source pane as in standard NLEs. There are more choices for rendering - the Custom button does now open, etc etc. (plus the fact that the programme is so stable whatever file you throw at it - as well as the range of compositing functions.
I am now a very happy convert from Premiere Pro CS3!
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2010, 07:55 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Davies-Rollinson View Post
I just upgraded from Platinum 9b to version 10 and the differences are legion.
They've got rid of the awful trimmer pane and made it a proper preview source pane as in standard NLEs. There are more choices for rendering - the Custom button does now open, etc etc. (plus the fact that the programme is so stable whatever file you throw at it - as well as the range of compositing functions.
I am now a very happy convert from Premiere Pro CS3!
With this release of Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum, this looks like the right solution for what I do (archiving TV shows and HD camcorder footage onto a menued Blu-ray or AVCHD DVD disc). Previously, I had to purchase prosumer-level software just to even do this as the consumer-level software packages I looked at when I started doing this archiving either did not natively support progressive-scan frame rates above 29.97 fps or did not come with Blu-ray compatible HD authoring software. The new DVD Architect Studio 5.0 now allows you to author HD content with menus in addition to SD content. However, one needs to purchase HD Platinum or HD Platinum Production Suite in order to get this authoring software. The plain Vegas Movie Studio HD does not have a disc-authoring program at all (not even for SD).

Last edited by Randall Leong; June 13th, 2010 at 09:32 AM.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
Robin,
Are you saying I can real time edit my T2i MOV files without stuttering (within reason)? I have a heavy hand with effects and the like but will this be overcome with a beefy CPU and RAM?

Thanks,
Burt
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 06:20 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Burt,
I haven't had the reason to use any MOV files yet, so I can't really say how they would run in this editing software.
My feelings is - since it will scale the playback to match the processing power of the machine - that it probably would be OK, but don't quote me on that!
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network