Is it possible to keep events from extending past their start/end points? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2010, 02:49 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Is it possible to keep events from extending past their start/end points?

I am using Vegas Pro 9. When extending events further than their start or finish points, Vegas loops them. Is there any way to prevent this from happening? I would prefer that the event just stop at its start and end point without looping and in fact without letting me extend them further than their stop/end marks.

Thank you.
Adi Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 05:09 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woking, England
Posts: 113
Not sure if this is what yiu want but does Ctrl and Drag (a squiggly line appears under the box) on the edge of the event do what you require?

Richard
Richard Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 06:19 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Quote:
Not sure if this is what yiu want but does Ctrl and Drag (a squiggly line appears under the box) on the edge of the event do what you require?

Richard
Hi Richard,
No, you've misunderstood me. I'll try to explain myself better.

By expanding an event I mean....

I just simply hover over the end of an event on the timeline and when the cursor becomes a square with a two-headed arrow, I click and drag the edge of the event, thus revealing more of the original clip (either from the beginning by dragging left or from the end by dragging right).
When doing so at some point the original clip ends (or arrives at its beginning point) and then there is a small tooth-mark at the top of the event indicating the start/end point of the original clip. By default, when I expand the event beyond these tooth-marks - the shot simply loops itself.
For example if I click and drag the end of an event and continue expanding the event until I see that tooth-mark indicator and then preview the event - I will see that exactly at the point of the tooth-mark the clip reaches its very last frame and loops back to the first frame of the original clip.

My question is: if it is possible to not allow Vegas to expand events beyond these tooth-marks, meaning beyond the original start and end points of the original clips. I would like to set Vegas so that when I click and drag an edge of an event - it will just stop at the tooth-marks and not allow for further expansion.

Hope this is clear.

Thanks!
Adi Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 06:25 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adi Head View Post
I would like to set Vegas so that when I click and drag an edge of an event - it will just stop at the tooth-marks and not allow for further expansion.
Sorry but there's no way that I know of to get Vegas to do what you want.
The best you can do is go Options - Prefs - Editing - Enable looping on events by default.
If this option is disabled, only the last frame will appear if the event is dragged out past its end point instead of repeating the event.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 06:51 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Quote:
Sorry but there's no way that I know of to get Vegas to do what you want.
The best you can do is go Options - Prefs - Editing - Enable looping on events by default.
If this option is disabled, only the last frame will appear if the event is dragged out past its end point instead of repeating the event.
Hmmm.... strange. Seems logical that there would be a way to do that, but maybe not.

Yes, I did come across the option of going to Options > Prefs > Editing > (tick off) Enable looping on events by default. But its not what I had in mind.

You see, I'm giving some private lessons to someone who is interested in learning how to edit video (pretty much from scratch). Being a bit inexperienced and unfamiliar with handling the Vegas interface he often expands events past their start/end marks without even noticing. So I tried to find a way for him to avoid that, at least until he gets a better grip on things.

Thanks anyway.
Adi Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 07:00 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
Hi Adi,

What is the type of event you are trying to stretch? If it's a picture, I think there is a way to set the default length of that event so it doesn't loop. It's in the tool bar, and not done with the editing tool.

As far as how to do it, I don't know. But I believe it can be done.
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 08:18 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
There ARE two things that will help you.

1. If you extend the event beyond it's length, you'll see a little tick mark on the top edge where the end of the clip really is.

2. As you resize it and approach that tick mark, it will automatically SNAP to that tick mark making it easier to resize to the exact length.

Remember, you could always use a script to resize it to it's original length. Technically, you could use a script that would go through and either check if any were extended beyond it's size and report that, or automatically resize them all, or be proactive and automatically resize them back so if you extended one too far, it could automatically pull it back if you went too far.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 08:34 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Quote:
There ARE two things that will help you.

1. If you extend the event beyond it's length, you'll see a little tick mark on the top edge where the end of the clip really is.

2. As you resize it and approach that tick mark, it will automatically SNAP to that tick mark making it easier to resize to the exact length.

Remember, you could always use a script to resize it to it's original length. Technically, you could use a script that would go through and either check if any were extended beyond it's size and report that, or automatically resize them all, or be proactive and automatically resize them back so if you extended one too far, it could automatically pull it back if you went too far.
Yes, I am familiar with all of this. It's not a problem for me personally. As I've said, I am teaching this guy who became obviously frustrated with accidentally extending the events past that tick mark and somehow didn't quite notice the snap effect - being a complete beginner in video editing that he is. I was just thinking I could help him out by changing something in the Preferences which would stop this from happening and was a bit surprised not to find such an option.No big deal, he'll just have to deal with it and get used to the tick marks and snaps. :)
Adi Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:37 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
He can always zoom into the timeline to the point where he can see individual frames. He can then split the event into three events A, B, C, so that event A consists of only the first frame of the original event, event C consists of only the last frame of the original, and event B contains everything else. He can then stretch event A to the left and while it will technically still be looping, it will only loop the one frame of event A. And he can stretch event C as far to the right as he wants, and, again, it will only "loop" the one frame of event C, so in reality the start and end frames of the original clip will appear frozen.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 12:06 PM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Adam, you need to test what you just said. I believe you'll find it doesn't work as you just described.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 12:17 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 642
Hey guys.... :)

Thanks for the help, but it's really no big deal. I was just checking to see if I had somehow over-looked a simple option that would prevent the accidental over-expansion of an event causing it to go past its tick marks - like for example enabling or disabling a setting in the Preferences (or similar to that). It seemed logical to me that such an option exists, but apparently not.

Its really no sweat though. We'll manage... :)

Thanks again!!
Adi Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Adam, you need to test what you just said. I believe you'll find it doesn't work as you just described.
OK, thanks, will do.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 02:02 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Adam, you need to test what you just said. I believe you'll find it doesn't work as you just described.
You're right. I just tested it. I thought I have done it before, but clearly I could not have. Anyway, in that case, export the last (or first) frame as a bitmap and use the bitmap at the end (or before the beginning) of the clip. That does work (I just tested it).
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 07:41 PM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, that would technically work. So would turning the first and last frame into a sub-clip. But then you're really defeating the purpose of a fully adjustable clip.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:35 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Never mind, I misunderstood what Adi was asking. I now realize he was asking how to prevent Vegas from expanding the clip beyond its original start or end. I guess I was just thinking about a problem I myself had in mind, that is how to expand the clip so the clip itself stops moving and only the last or first frame is repeated, and read that into Adi's question.

At least I realized my own solution for my own problem did not work and found a new solution that does. :)
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network