The DVD Architect FREEZE at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2010, 08:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 51
The DVD Architect FREEZE

I have recently upgraded to Windows 7 32-bit Pro. I brought over DVD Architect 4.0 from my old system. On my new system, the programs frezzes everytime I press the 'Make DVD' button. I have updated all my driver on my burner, and the burner works just fine when I use Encore, or Nero. Is there come kind of update I need with Architect to work with Windows 7? Thank you for any help you all can give me.

Sony HVR-Z5, Sony PD-150, Canon HV30, Adobe Creative Suite 4
Will Tucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 08:45 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 325
This thread may provide answers for you
Cliff Etzel - Photographer
Website | Blog
Cliff Etzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 04:30 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 311
I found my old release notes for DVD Architect 4 and it doesn't even support Vista, so I imagine you're headed for a lot of issues trying to run it under Win 7.

I also checked the release notes for DVD Architect 4.5, and it does support Vista. Maybe you can get a free upgrade to 4.5? Depends on how you aquired DVD Architect 4.

David Jasany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 05:07 PM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,416
I have experienced a variety of issues with Nero disrupting other programs, thought it's been a while and I cannot be specific. The primary thing to try is to go into sytem configuration utility and disable all start up items for Nero. This might or might not help.

DVDA, I believe to be extremely stable and should work fine in Windows 7. I have notice SO many posts that announce issues with Vegas or DVDA and then by the end of thread they find the issue is not at all with the program, but with something person had freezing with Vegas because they had preview ram set incorrectly, for example. In another DVDA worked find when the source files were on a different drive. (In that case the drive likely needed reformatted, etc.).

Just keep chipping'll find the problem, I doubt that DVDA is the actual issue at all.

And yes, it would be frustrating that you can burn with other programs but not DVDA, but I would still look elsewhere for solution first.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 08:34 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,858
Bottom line is that DVD Architect 4 does not support Win 7. If you want to get Win 7 support, upgrade Vegas/DVD Architect to the newest version.
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network