7 mins 9GB AVI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2010, 10:28 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
7 mins 9GB AVI

I finally made clip that I like using a number of small clips, transitions and no effects. The avi render uses the Matrox MPEG-2 I-frame HD codec. The quality is good but the size is huge. I've read posts where it was suggested to do a secondary render with mpeg2. I tried this. The quality was good enough but there was no sound. A search of the net showed this to be a common problem.

As I'm using Studio Platinum 10, I'm wondering if I'm missing a codec or 2. Or, is there something I'm leaving out in the mpeg render.

Thanks,
Burt
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2010, 10:52 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Open your project back up and simply render to MPEG2. You should not have an "avi" file with MPEG2 in it. Just render straight to MPEG2.

Now, what MPEG2 preset are you using? If you use one of the DVD Architect presets, they do NOT contain audio by default as it is assumed you will render the audio out separately as AC3. Then you give DVD Architect BOTH files to burn to DVD. Remember to set the bitrate appropriate for the length of your video so it will fit on the DVD.

If you wish to render to an MPEG2 file WITH audio, just go to the Audio tab on the "Custom" screens and turn on the audio.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
Re-rendered the project in mpeg-2. Checked the audio but still came out mute. Using the main concept with the blue ray 1920x1080p 25mbps template. Video looks OK but no audio.
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2010, 12:49 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Did you click on "Custom", go to the AUDIO tab, and turn it ON? There's a checkbox for "Include audio stream" that is unchecked by default on that preset.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2010, 01:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 55
Yes, this checkbox was clicked.
Burt Alcantara is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network