Notebook Editing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2010, 08:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Notebook Editing

I`ve though to have a notebook for fullHD editing option with Vegas 9.0e,
I`m not a computer techy, so I wonder if a 5400rpm SATA Hard Drive + 4GB RAM + 2.4GHz Intel Core i5-450M are enouph to edit the most comon 1980X1080 codecs, like h.264 (Canon`s HDSLR), AVCHD, Sony MXF (EX1/3), Neoscene, etc and render to a HDCAM file.
Thanks
Ron
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 10:00 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Only if you NEED to edit on laptop, I would spend more on hard drive, because it is the slowest component in the system; 72000rpm wil perform noticable better, but SSD will give you the best performance;
not sure about DSLR footage converted with neoscene and AVCHD, I have major problems with 5/7D footage on i7 920, but sony MXF will be flying on that thing;
but I would still use desktop with tiny monitor even for SDEs
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 10:37 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I've edited on a laptop for YEARS. I did get one with two separate hard drives and use the second drive for video storage. Just don't skimp on the system.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 11:50 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
You should have at least 6GB Ram, and the most powerful processor, fastest hard drive you can get. If your doing professional editing don't skimp. All Solid State Hard Drives are not created equal, there are vast differences in quality, get the best you can afford for the smoothest editing experience possible. If there was a way to hook up an esata card to a laptop I would go that route, using a nice fast external drive with the appropriate connection.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 04:13 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Thank you for your responses
But I wonder if specifically this configuration (5400rpm SATA Hard Drive + 4GB RAM + 2.4GHz Intel Core i5-450M + Windows 7 + 64bits) could be used (woud be enouph) as a ready-for-edit (HD stuff) system on a laptop?
(My desktop is 32 bits 3GHz dual core 2 + 3 GB RAM + 7200 SATA HD + Windows Professional + Vegas 9.0e 32bits and I edit with no issues except h.264 files from Canon T2i, that I have to transcode to Neoscene).
Regards
Ron
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2010, 07:46 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Short answer: yes it will work. I do agree that I'd go for 7200 rpm drives and I'd go for TWO or THREE drives. The laptop I'm using can have up to three internal drives (I only got two).

Don't expect to edit on battery for very long, though.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2010, 09:57 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Thank you Edward.
Is there any problem to have the system (internal) 5400 rpm hard drive and the media to be edited in a external 7200 rpm hard drive?
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2010, 06:26 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Hey Edward, what lappy have you got that can have 3 internal drives?
Im trying to find a replacement for Satellite which has 2 x 500gb.
All the new i7's Ive found with 6 gb of Ram or more only have 1 drive, ie Asus, Alienware even Mac pro.
id resigned myself to an SSD on board and a Sata out to a 600gb 10K Raptor in an enclosure.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 08:51 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 146
"...what lappy have you got that can have 3 internal drives?"

Sager makes laptops with 3 drives and (up to) i7 940 CPU... most of their laptops are customizable.
Rob Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 09:33 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
One look at the Sager website and I would look nowhere else for a video editing laptop...amazing configurability. Their machines appear to be of the highest quality. Good stuff, Rob.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 11:26 AM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Mine's a Sager! :-)
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 02:51 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
So THAT'S how you edit AVCHD on a laptop...you have a really good one!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 04:03 PM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Mine is nearly three years old now so it's definitely not top of the line today. But it's worked fine for my editing needs. This one is a Core 2 Quat Q6700 2.66 GHz with 2 Gig of RAM. I'm sure the ones available today will be MUCH faster.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 09:33 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 146
i use a NP9285 (i7-960) with 3 drives... used most for capturing audio via firewire; works great. haven't done much editing with it.
Rob Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2010, 09:03 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
I use a Dell Studio 17 for my AVCHD editing, It performes great even with multicam projects...

Specs:
Dell Studio 17.3 1600x900 HD
i7core QM720 Quadcore
6Gig DDR3
1Gig ATI 4650 Video card
2-500Gig Hds 7200
8x DVD Burner (Portable LG Bluray Burner)
HDMI, ESata, Firewire, Card reader
Camcorders- Sony HDR-AX2000, Canon HG21, Canon HG10
Software- Vegas 9pro, Pinnacle 14.......
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network