Help - Can't open Vegas - error message at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2005, 09:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Help - Can't open Vegas - error message

Folks, I really made a mistake today. I used a program called XPlite because I was soooo tired of waiting 3 minutes for my machine to boot up. It cleans out all the parts of XP that you don't need. BUT it went too far, and deleted a file called DINPUT8.dll - Now I can't open Vegas.

Has anybody ever done anything like this? I spent close to 5 hrs today trying to undo the damage and had no luck. I even spent 3 hrs talking to a Microsoft tech support guy - from India which made it really hard to follow.

Still no luck. Any thoughts on this. I did a system restore - then I did another system restore to 2 weeks earlier, but still it wouldn't put that file back in.

Even when the file appeared to be back where it belonged, Vegas still couldn't see it.

I appreciate any help you might have,
Milt Lee
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2005, 09:29 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 163
Have you tried to reinstall Vegas?
Paul Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2005, 09:37 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Yep, I did it all. Even took out all the DLL's and reinstalled them. It just doesn't see it. Can't figure it out.

Unfortunately, I downloaded Vegas 6, and then updated to 6.0b so now I can't find Vegas 6, which I figured would maybe let me reload, but no such luck.

Ah, such is life. Any other ideas?

Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2005, 09:41 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 6.0b is a full install so you don't need the original 6.0. At this time it sounds like you really need to do a reinstall of XP.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 12:38 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
did u have ur system configured to do system restores??
Sometimes XP will set a restore point before an install of an application.. despite what people think, the system restore tool has been a godsend for me..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 03:47 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl....shtml?dinput8

download and extract to windows\system32 folder.

i hope it helps
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 10:06 AM   #7
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
The problem is that just plopping the dll file in the right directory often isn't enough. It often has to be properly registered in the windows registry for Vegas to see it. If you're familiar with the registry, sometimes you can poke around with REGEDIT and figure it out how a program is using it. Other times not. For instance, searching the registry for that filename or related ones might give you a clue.

Manually adding an erroneous registry key for a particular program is usually harmless, but no guarantees. If your not familiar with the registry, it's best left alone, because deleting the wrong file could crash the operation system altogether.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 10:13 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
dinput8.dll does not exist in the registery except for the files names which have been searched so i still think that it is possible to solve the problem by adding the file to windows\system32 folder.
i did this for other dll files and it worked.
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 10:27 AM   #9
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
The apparent relationship of my post to yours was coincidental, Ahmet. I apologize for not being more careful. It looks like I was criticizing your post but I wasn't. Your suggestion may indeed work.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 06:42 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
no problem. I was not offended. in fact i would not even if you criticized my post. we just share what we know. dont we.:)
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 08:51 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Ok Folks, I'll give it a try. I'm going to do download and put it in. We'll see....

I've considered doing a duel boot, but frankly, haven't done that for a few years so I don't remember all the ins and outs.

Anybody ever setup a duel boot - one for video editing, and the other for everything else?

Thanks for all the suggestions,
Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 09:47 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
So here's my report. It worked!! I went to the dll place and got the file - followed the instructions - unziped it, and now Vegas sees it,

BUT - it now needs another dll - d3d9.dll I am going to do the same thing with this file. THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP. It's really good to come to a place that has answers - and from all over the world.

Here's a cautionary note for all of you following this thread. I got into trouble by using XPLite - without really knowing what I should buzz away, and it landed me in a world of hurt. I think the program works, but I also think it doesn't really know what to remove and what would be potentially harmful if it weren't there.

Thanks again,
Milt Lee
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 09:49 AM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
d3d9.dll is part of DirectX 9. I would recommend a full install of DirectX 9.0c (you can download from Sony's site).

You may even need to reinstall the .NET framework and the .NET SP1 update (also available from links on Sony's site).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 10:18 AM   #14
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milt Lee
...It's really good to come to a place that has answers - and from all over the world...
Ain't it great? Chris Hurd and his crew run a tight ship. The mutual respect and quality of information make this one of the best forum sites of any kind on the net.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2005, 02:25 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cass Lake MN
Posts: 221
Would there be a good order to reinstall these software packs? I did in fact reinstall directx 9c yesterday, but there were a lot of possible packages and I might have not done the right one, as it didn't correct the problem when I did it.

I will go to the sony site and see if they have direct links to the files I want. I just got back from a shoot so I'm anxious to resolve this issue.

Thanks again,
Milt
__________________
Professional website - http://manykites.com
Personal - http://mrdogsblog.com
Milt Lee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network