m2t extensions when rendering for DVD? WHY at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 26th, 2010, 06:37 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
m2t extensions when rendering for DVD? WHY

I am tryiny to render a DVD for a client to watch in his living room on a DVD player. I try to render in MPEG2, but i keep getting an .m2t file. What am I doing wrong? Of course this wont play in his DVD player.

I have even tried bringing it into a DVD authoring program (Roxio) but when I do that i get all kinds of artifacting issues...

Best way to render and deliver on DVD?
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 08:01 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Which preset are you choosing? Different presets use different extensions (and different resolutions). If this is for a standard DVD, you should choose the proper "DVD Architect" preset which will render the video to an MPG extension. Then you should render the audio to AC3. Give DVD Architect these two files to create your DVD.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 08:21 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
You keep geting .m2t extension because you selected preset 1080 60i. For DVD you should seclect 720x480 widescreen. With that yould getting mpg and SD file. I used to output DVD under Vegas and I thought it was not bad. Later I play with VirtualDub and do the downconversion and finish the Mpeg2 file and burn to DVD the results are very sharp.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 08:49 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
When I purchased my sony vegas pro..it was a stand alone dvd from BH. I do not have DVD architect cause i wasnt planning on making DVD's to play on DVD players! LOL

I did change my setting to 720x480 wide screen... and its re rendering right now...Thanks...
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network