White screen border problems. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 27th, 2010, 08:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 35
White screen border problems.

I've been doing videos with a white screen background, and placing in multiple instances of people.
I get a slight gray border line around frames placed within the larger frame.
I'll attach a snap shot of what I mean...
In the past, I would painstakingly mask these borders out, but I've "heard" there is a setting somewhere that gets rid of them. Does anyone know of this?
Thanks!
Walt
Attached Thumbnails
White screen border problems.-white_screen_problem.jpg  
Walt Noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 09:08 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Don't know Vegas but since the lines are straight can't you just crop or do they stay even after the crop? Also looks like the guy on the right is framed too close as his foot is cut off so cropping would just make it worse.
Other thought is do do a key. Instead of blue or green just specify white.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 09:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 35
Can't crop unfortunately...

Thanks for the input. Unfortunately, when I crop each picture, I just get a new border around the newly cropped image. This is made worse by the fact that I'm panning between characters in post, so the borders are moving all over, and that makes it nearly impossible to mask them out etc.
Thanks though!
Walt Noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 11:05 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Have u tried putting a border with feather edges on the image? The guy with the leg cut off would be an issue thou.
__________________
Firewerkz Films SGP
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2010, 08:15 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I think I'd try using the Pan/Crop masking feature.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2010, 11:51 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 175
I'm trying to understand where they might come from.

One thing that struck me, you mentioned that re-cropping simply yields a newly placed grey line? These are multiple videos, shot on a white screen that don't show these lines at all when viewed individually? You're compositing them against a white background media?

I've tried what you've done, with video and stills and had no such problems.

It almost sounds like this is a teeny-tiny 2D shadow or glow peeking through in the background.
__________________
CraigL
Craig Longman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2010, 03:22 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 35
Problem Solved!

Hey! Thanks everyone!!!!

The problem had an ODD, but complete solution, so I wanted to mention it here in case any of you run into it in Vegas...

When you select any video event FX, you'll notice at the bottom of the box that pops up for that FX there is a little arrow next to the name of the FX. This is the "pre/post" toggle arrow.

All you have to do to get rid of these annoying borders is toggle that arrow for each FX you have loaded.

I assume that why Vegas does this is to allow you to visualize the borders of different video clips layed in for positioning purposes.

It would have been MUCH smarter to have the borders appear when working on the project, but not have them appear in the final render as you'd never want that regardless.

I know with Vegas I've come across a number of things like this that no one would ever want in a render...

Like, why wouldn't any time you select "Save snapshot to file" automatically save the best quality picture?

Thanks again!
Walt Noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2010, 07:26 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt Noon View Post
Like, why wouldn't any time you select "Save snapshot to file" automatically save the best quality picture?
It DOES - at least it does now in the latest versions. It's been that way for well over a year now (can't remember if it was added in late 8's or early 9's)

But I can see where it would be nice to get snapshots at lower resolutions as well - depending on your reason for wanting the snapshot! I kind of liked it the old way as I could control the resolution I got and could easily use a script to get "full" resolution without having to worry about changing the various settings or switching them back.

Thanks for telling us the ultimate solution. The Pre/Post toggle flag determines whether the effect is applied to the image BEFORE it does the pan/crop or AFTER it does the pan/crop. It's not an overly well-known feature but is very important.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 09:55 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 35
Using Vegas 8

Thanks again. I'm using version 8c. Build 260.
Walt Noon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network