Editing Hell!! Need Help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2010, 08:54 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Editing Hell!! Need Help!

I've been having a time with what should be a simple render. Two Canon 5D mk2 files converted to AVI via Cineform and dropped on the project timeline.

THE PROBLEM: The first clip renders beautifully and then I fade out and fade in to the second clip and it starts to play and about 4 secs into that clip ithe video freezes for a second, runs another couple of second and then freezes again. the audio seems to be fine and plays with the video alright without messing up. Any ideas what's wrong. Why would the first clip play fine and the second clip have hickups.

I've got to deliver this to the client and can almost pass this off as intentional cause it is a part where the talent blinks at the camera, cept now she blinks and theres a second freeze frame and then it continues smoothly. But what's going on. I still have a little time to rerender before deadline this afternoon. Any ideas? (Using Sony Vegas Studio 10 HD)

Project has the following settings: 1920x1080 none(Progressive) 29.970(NTSC) 1.000 Square pixel
audio Stereo, 44,100 , 16, best

I added a couple of generated text controls and added a jpg image to the timeline too.

When I render I make sure the project properties exist as the render properties too and render to MainConcept AVC/AAC(*mp4) progressive.

When it renders I see the in the render box 1920x1080x32, 14.985p and the render makes two passes through the video to render.
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 11:45 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 35
Harry,
I am not sure what causes this, but I too have experienced the exact same thing. I usually work with the 64 bit version of Vegas. A couple times when this happened, I opened the project in 32 bit Vegas and the project rendered fine. I only encountered this problem while rendering or even previewing projects where the media and Vegas were on the same drive.

Recently, I moved my media files to a separate drive (D-Data drive) and have not experienced the problem.

Don't know what causes the problem or the solution, just thought I would share my experiences. The problem can be very frustrating.

Hope this helps,

Doug
Doug Marcum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 12:21 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Try rendering out to a Cineform .avi file first. Do you get the same results ?

If not, you can use that as your master, open a new project, and render your mp4 from there.

If it does continue to the cineform render, could be a corrupted render of the Cineform file, have you played it outside of Vegas ?

Is your Cineform product updated ? How recently. I note that there have been reports of bugs in the very latest version, and stepping back a couple of version may help.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 01:23 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
I ended up loading my ol' Sony Studio 9 which contained a custom template I developed for a less aggressive 1280x720 render. Followed it like a cookbook to develop the same custom template in Studio 10 and rendered the project out using that template. Everything rendered out great. It's not 1080 but the 720 ought to do the trick for this client anyhoo.

Thanks for chiming in and glad there was a happy outcome.......last night was hell! if you know what I mean.

Thanks
Harry
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 06:28 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
You know what, I didn't catch the 1080 part. For some reason, rendering out from 1080 cineform to 1080 mp4 doesn't work well from me either. Its been that way for a long time, and I just ended up rendering to 720. Maybe we need to talk to Sony or Cineform people and find out what is up.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 09:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
I can render 1080 out to BluRay no problem and it looks great. Yes I'm all over 720 for web play again.
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network