Changing from 32 to 64bit at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2010, 12:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 481
Changing from 32 to 64bit

Quick question. I'm in the middle of a project but won't have my audio file now till November. I want to upgrade my OS to Win 7 64bit and then upgrade Vegas 9e to 64bit. All my project files are on separate drives from the OS. Can I assume that I shouldn't have any problems opening up the project in a new 64bit install? Has anybody done this without any problems? Thanks.
David Stoneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 01:01 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You should be able to transfer files back and forth between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Vegas. The only real "catch" is if you're using any 32-bit only plugins. Are you?

Worst case, you can always also install the 32-bit version. The two versions can safely live together on the same machine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 481
No I don't think I am. I haven't been using any plugins. I was going to possibly use some color correction presets. I don't think they are specific to 32 or 64bit.
David Stoneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 01:38 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
None of the built-in Sony effects should cause an issue.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 04:45 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bloomingdale, IL
Posts: 10
Magic Bullet is the only software I've encountered thus far that doesn't support the 64bit version of Vegas.
Frank Grumeretz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2010, 02:31 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Boris Red is a no go zone as well, fine on a 64bit machine, just not 64bit Vegas.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network