Render high resolution to mpeg2 - problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2010, 04:55 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Render high resolution to mpeg2 - problem

Hi
I made stereo 3D videos, and want to render both streams to one file, in mpeg2 format,
because for avchd playback our dualcore 2.5ghz cpu is slow.
So i set up the project to 2x1280 x720 = 2560x720, and hit render as, but cannot change the mpeg2
resolution to 2560, it seems maximum is 2048. Why? I read somwhere, that mpeg2 format itself doesn't have such limitation.
So i setup my project to 1280x 2x720 = 1280x1440. Finally i can set these numbers to mpeg2 settings, but after start rendering, vegas give me an error message:
"An error occuread while creating the media file. The reason for the error could not be determined."

Any idea why?
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:20 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
If you want high resolution in mpeg2, which mean you have to select preset 1080 60i, either 1440x1080 or 1920x1080. This of course will be m2t file. The number you enter for vegas to render won't work and will crash or error in rendering.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:23 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
i don't understand you

"If you want high resolution in mpeg2, which mean you have to select preset "
No, i don't have to.
I can also select "Default Template" and hit the custom button..
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:56 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
You can custom all you want but it ain't going to work. Good luck trying.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:57 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Yes, it seems only WMV and AVI (with ffdshow encoding) support
this resolution :(
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 05:38 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beersheba, Israel
Posts: 111
According to MPEG-2/H.262 format specifications:

At High Level of Main Profile (Sampling 4:2:0, Bitrate 25 Mbits/s, Stream 1) the resolutions (pixel) are as follows: 1920x1080, 1440x1080 (at framerate 30/25), and 1280x720 (at framerate 60/50).

So, as you can see, there’s no such resolution as 2560x720 or 1280x1440 in MPEG-2 video compression/encoding standard. Sorry, mate.
Arkady Bolotin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 10:46 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
You can squeeze the aspect ratio by rendering first in a format that supports the resolution, then squeezing it vertically to render in MPEG-2 at 1920x1080 with a 960x1080 resolution for each eye. (or just squeeze your footage by changing the aspect ratio of your source footage in a 1920x1080 project) This is how the new Panasonic consumer 3D cameras are recording 3D. All it is is that you squeeze it vertically and then stretch it out later during playback. (YouTube 3D uses this method in 1280x720 with side by side squeezing)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 12:29 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
"there’s no such resolution as 2560x720 or 1280x1440 in MPEG-2"

Hmm, i don't have read such limitation for mpeg2 standard, but i still search infos.
Thanks.

"video compression/encoding standard."
I thinked i can create a non standard mpeg2 file...
Or what about High Level with High Profile?

Jack: i know this method, and tested it. But unfortanatly with 720p projectors i can
see the resolution loss, so this is not the right way for us.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 11:10 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Beersheba, Israel
Posts: 111
MPEG-2 has no high profile per se, but the highest profile (in video quality terms) is called 422 Profile.

It gives you the maximum possible in MPEG-2 sampling 4:2:2, the max bitrate of 300 Mbit/sec but the same resolution 1920x1080 (at framerate 30/25) or 1280x720 (at max 60 Hz framerate).
Arkady Bolotin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network