Raw to Client with FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 27th, 2010, 02:33 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Raw to Client with FCP

I've got a client that wants my raw MOV or AVI (Cineform) files to pull into FCP on a MAC to edit.
I'd like to at least clean up the sound a little and perhaps treat whitebalance on a few shots.

The less "RAW" i suppose the less FCP will want to accept these into it's timeline right? But what's a good way to provide the right mix of RAW and somewhat treated files for their FCP editing?

Does this make a little bit of sense?

TIA
Harry
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 04:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 175
Depending on your version of Cineform, do you have First Light?

As I understand it, you can use First Light to non-destructively add colour corrections and various other effects to the Cineform files. The adjustments are stored as meta-data and applied in 'real-time' to the decoded video being used.

I can't imagine, other than wanting to make all the changes himself, that there is any difference between a 'virgin' Cineform, and one that's been colour corrected and re-encoded. I mean, that's kind of the point of an intermediate codec like Cineform, right?
__________________
CraigL
Craig Longman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 09:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Welp I don't have first light. Converted the MOV to AVI but the AVI played back by themselves has the sound and video out of sync for some reason...so I'm burning a DVD of selected MOVs (as shot) so he can have the rawest of the raw. Hopefully FCP can handle the MOVs...........
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2010, 04:45 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 45
I have the same problem in my office. One guy uses FCP and sometimes we have to trade files for projects and it can be a hassle. I found if I have to give him RAW stuff, but I want to do some correction or something, I bring it into Vegas, do what needs to be done and then render out as uncompressed AVI. Yeah, the files are huge but with an external HDD or a decent network connection he can use those files directly in FCP. (but of course when he gives me uncompressed .mov files in the yuv codec Vegas won't touch it. Sucks.)
Michael Tobias is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network