Vegas 10 crashes - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2011, 12:22 AM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
well yes, 10c is buggy, and will crash with certain ofx plugins (usually with the same:

File: C:\Users\mb\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\10.0\dx_video_grovel_x64.log
File: C:\Users\mb\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\10.0\svfx_video_grovel_x64.log
File: C:\Users\mb\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\10.0\svfx_Ofx1_1_plugin_x64-'com.sonycreativesoftware_Filters.Stereoscopic3DAdjust' (0, Multiple Contexts).log
File: C:\Users\mb\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\10.0\svfx_Ofx1_1_plugin_x64-'com.sonycreativesoftware_Filters.Stereoscopic3DAdjust' (0, Filter).log
File: C:\Users\mb\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\10.0\dx_grovel_x64.log

as reported elsewhere.)

that said, i roll my own, but always intel+gigabyte mb and so far have never had what i could describe as a 'hardware' bug.

as an aside, with the bug report above i notice a call on 'stereoscopic3dadjust'. none of the filters i'm calling upon, which guarantee a crash, have anything to do with 3d whatsoever.

it's my belief that 10 has been a desire for features over reliability, and for my part PROPER support for ofx plugins should have taken precedence over 3d since, i'm guessing here, most pro users of vegas are not, as yet, working 3d, but most certainly are trying to make a living editing with what WAS a very reliable nle...
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2011, 10:37 AM   #32
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
I had a repeatable crash last week due to my source files being spread over 2 drives. After i shifted everything onto one drive it rendered successfully to mp4.
__________________
Firewerkz Films SGP
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2011, 10:47 AM   #33
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
I am also experiencing frequent crashes with V10. I virtually never had a crash problem before V10. I have made no changes to my system other than simply installing V10 (now on Rev. C). I now save my project VERY frequently so I won't lose more than a few minutes work. It's also important to send the 'snapshot' to Sony when prompted to do so. I really hope someone at Sony is analyzing these and gets the problem(s) fixed soon.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2011, 12:09 PM   #34
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
My installation of Vegas crashes all the time during editing, when I use space bar for start\stop play,
so my Ctrl+S is like a reflex, after every move :),
but after I enabled F12/Space bar start\pause instead start\stop under options, i can't crash it; usually it takes just a few frequent start\stop space bar clicks, nown I've been trying to crash it for about 15 min and I can't, let's see if that helps.
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2011, 08:00 AM   #35
AVPA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 373
Well I would have to say that after 6 yrs of using Vegas, Dean is tempted to switch to Edius.
Hopefully the problems get fixed because time is money. Going back to V9 would mean that we would have to use cineform for our clips...more time issues.
__________________
Preface Films - The Boss www.prefacefilms.com.au
EDU www.exposeddownunder.com.au
Rochelle Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2011, 07:24 AM   #36
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
I've tried old fix for V9 and it looks like it still works with V10;
CineForm codec playback issues in Vegas Pro 9
Vegas still crashes, but there is a huge improvement in stability after swapping DLLs
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2011, 04:31 PM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Re: Vegas 10 crashes

I noticed that when I disable (set) memory in Dynamic PAM preview to 0 it works OK; any thoughts?
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network