Audio visual in Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 8th, 2010, 07:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Audio visual in Vegas

I know, I used the words loosely, but does Vegas has a visual way to see what you hear, for example, like the EQ, is there a way to see the peaking on the EQ channels. So if my highs are just too high, can you see that in Vegas?
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2010, 08:35 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
The audio busses have meters that run green with the db level next to that. Thats what I always use. Oh yeah it will show red when the levels are that of a 747 at full take off power ;-)
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2010, 08:37 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Thanks Don, I use those regularly, I was just wondering if I could get more detailed than that. hmmmmm
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2010, 08:39 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Make it taller. Then you'll get a better look at it. I keep mine on my 2nd monitor and have it almost top to bottom so I can see the numbers (damn old eyes) Its actually pretty accurate. (The meters, no so much the eyes.)
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2010, 02:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Don, How does one get the meters to be displayed on the second monitor? (Thanks in advance)
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2010, 03:34 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
All the windows in Vegas can be docked/undocked. You just need to undock it and resize and move it to the second screen. To undock a window, look at the column of dots in the upper left corner of that window. Click and drag the dots and you will undock it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2010, 08:39 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
No Steven, I don't think Vegas has a graphic eq built into it that I've seen.

You could export your audio to Soundforge, etc I imagine but that isn't what you're looking for I'm sure. You probably want to keep an eye on it as your editing your video, I imagine.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2010, 09:04 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Actually there are all kinds of effects, including graphic equalizer available both for a track and for individual clips. The sound plugins are added just like video filters. Screen grab below shows what it looks like.
Attached Thumbnails
Audio visual in Vegas-sonysoundplugins.jpg  
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2010, 09:48 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Chris, yes Vegas has FX but I thought the OP wanted a live graph that shows volume of the various frequencies as the audio plays. I think we've referrred to it as an EQ, but I thought he meant an audio bus type thing that shows volume levels at all frequencies. That I didn't think was available in Vegas.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2010, 10:47 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
I vaguely recall that being available as a VST plugin but a search through the free ones I've accumulated over the years didn't turn up anything :-(

edit: my mistake.
There's one at http://www.bluecataudio.com/Products...t_FreqAnalyst/ that should be what Steven wants.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2010, 02:13 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Inspector

Sounds like you are looking for a spectrum analyzer. Try this one. I think it works in Vegas, although it has been awhile since I have played with it.

Download Inspector VST Analyzer - Freeware Software - Tucows
John Isgren is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network