Cineform Configure Window???? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2010, 02:55 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Cineform Configure Window????

Ok, this has been bugging me and its only now I have time to track it down and kill whatever is happening.

Does anyone have access to the Cineform Configure window in Custom render settings in Vegas 10??
Mine has been greyed out since install.
AND,
Quite often when rendering to Cineform, Vegas will write the first 128kB of the render, then crash, always 128kB, no more no less.
Cineform is fine in Adobe, Nero and anything else I use (Vegas vers 9 included).
AND,
while I'm whinging,
Does anyone know why Vegas cant write a Lagarith file with RGBA (the option that includes an alpha channel)??
Adobe can do it without any problems, Vegas has never been able to do it as far as I'm aware.
Ideas?
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 09:00 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerald Webb View Post
...
Does anyone know why Vegas cant write a Lagarith file with RGBA (the option that includes an alpha channel)??
Adobe can do it without any problems, Vegas has never been able to do it as far as I'm aware.
Ideas?
As far as I can tell, this is just a "business" decision, not a technical one. I've submitted a bug, and I'd suggest any/every one else do so. It's completely annoying to output Alpha ONLY to uncompressed video. Alpha in Lagarith works fine from everywhere I've used it, and heck, Vegas reads it in and uses it just fine.
__________________
CraigL
Craig Longman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 09:52 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
I have am having the same thing greyed out. Cineform blames Sony BUT why the hell other free codecs works just fine?? Huffy, Lagraith, DNxHD all works in Vegas Pro 10.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 01:37 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
So Craig, are you saying that its not a bug and more likely a choice by Sony to not have it enabled?
If so, what possible reason would they have for doing that, Lagarith is a free codec.


Does anyone else have the Cineform prob? Or just Bruce and I?
Would like to know if its just random or across the board.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2010, 08:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 175
Well, I'm obviously in possession of no special information, but the way it is presented, I think the plural in formats simply referrers to different containers using the specific named "Uncompressed" format, as opposed to multiple codecs.

As for why, I suspect they just figured it was the only one reliably supporting alpha, at some point at least. And it's just not been looked at or addressed since.

More noise we make, the more likely it will be looked at.
__________________
CraigL
Craig Longman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 02:24 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
gerald re your Cineform issue - I have not used Cineform so I have NO idea if this is a good answer or not but I read another post earlier where the answer to a (different) Cineform issue was "have you updated to the latest version which works with Vegas Pro 10?".

Thought I'd mention it, just in case.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 03:23 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Thanx Ian, but already upgraded.
However, just checked the Cineform site and there is a new update as of 15/12, so downloading now, maybe that will make a difference, maybe not :(
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 05:29 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Esher, Surrey
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerald Webb View Post
Does anyone else have the Cineform prob? Or just Bruce and I?
Would like to know if its just random or across the board.
You may like to read this Gerald.
NEO HD work and Sony Vegas Pro 10
Dugi Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 01:34 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland, Ayr www.amour weddingvideos.co.uk
Posts: 304
well for me Vegas 10 has become a nightmare with cineform, constant crashes, slow to load, the list goes on.
Ive filed a ticket with sony but reaching the point of giving up on it for good which would be a shame as I have invested lots of time and money into it.
__________________
john estcourt
www.amourweddingvideos.co.uk
John Estcourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 05:24 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugi Barr View Post
You may like to read this Gerald.
NEO HD work and Sony Vegas Pro 10
Thanks Dugi,
well that explains a lot, o dear, where is 10b.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2010, 08:38 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
HI Gerald,

My Cineform Configured button is also greyed out. Apparently there will be a fix when sony rolls out the Vegas 10b.

Cinferom told me that the fix has to come from Sony and not from them. Until then Cineform will be working on default in Vegas 10a.

Matthew
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network