Any way to get Sony Vegas Platinum 10 to use more than 2 gigs of RAM? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2011, 10:45 AM   #16
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I just started up Vegas Pro 10.0b 64-bit and the "available RAM" for ram previews is 2,814 Meg on my 4 Gig system so it's accessing roughly 3 Gig of my 4Gig. I'm sure the number would be higher if I had more RAM. I don't see why a program such as that would help on the 64-bit version of Vegas Pro. Now the 32-bit version running on a 64-bit OS, I can see it increasing the number.

Looking through it again, I can see that it mentions the possibility of updating 32-bit dlls accessed by the 64-bit app but for 64-bit apps, it is NOT needed as they can already access more than 2 Gig.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:18 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
I'm sure the number would be higher if I had more RAM.
Yes, it would. Mine says:

Code:
Memory
  Physical memory: 24,567.2 MB
  Paging memory available: 49,132.6 MB
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:28 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I have 12 GB of ram and Vegas uses only about 2-3 GB. I just don't think of Vegas as using much ram.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 02:17 AM   #19
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Lee, what is the end result of using more ram with Vegas? Better previewing, timeline performance?
Hi Jeff,

Yes I noticed a considerable difference when rendering, especially in that I don't get the low memory notice anymore. I did ask a local computer specialist about whether I should add more RAM, but they said 4GB which I have is more than enough for HD editing and rendering. So in essence, give it a whirl buddy.
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 02:18 AM   #20
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
32 bit apps have a 2 Gig limit. You can fake it into using more using a program such as that mentioned above. However, you do risk instability when doing that. 64-bit apps are not limited to 2 Gig so simply switching to a 64-bit app will immediately make more than 2 Gig available to you without having to go through tricks of any sort. And the original post here was about Vegas Movie Studio and all Movie Studio versions are 32-bit.
But not all can afford yet another upgrade to 64 bit.
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 03:27 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Mullenberg View Post
especially in that I don't get the low memory notice anymore. So in essence, give it a whirl buddy.
Lee, I've never had problems rendering or a low memory notice(Yet). If it doesn't increase speed or timline performance it would be meaningless for me to play with it. Thanks for your reply.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 07:06 AM   #22
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Speed would be determined by how powerful your PC is.
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 08:33 AM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
So unless someone has issues with crashing, there is no benefit or reason to messing with increasing the amount of memory Vegas utilizes, is there?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 03:31 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
So unless someone has issues with crashing, there is no benefit or reason to messing with increasing the amount of memory Vegas utilizes, is there?
No, I don't see why there would be. Enabling the LMA would only help when total process memory usage exceeds 2GB, and the only time that ever seems to even come close to happening, is when rendering, and even then only in some particular cases.

That being said, having it enabled doesn't appear to cause any issues. There have been a fair number of people with it enabled and no extra curious behaviour reported that I'm aware of.

The important things are to get all the EXEs LMA set (the vegas EXE and FilIOSurrogate), and if you're on 32bit Windows, do the boot modification. Some places suggest fixing the DLLs also, but that is nonsense.

I also noticed when I had the demo version of Pro 10, that there was still a 32bit FileIOSurrogate. No doubt, it was to facilitate opening up videos where only a 32bit codec exists, but I think that even on a 64bit install, setting the LMA on that file might help with some codecs.
__________________
CraigL
Craig Longman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 03:52 AM   #25
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
So unless someone has issues with crashing, there is no benefit or reason to messing with increasing the amount of memory Vegas utilizes, is there?
What's interesting is when I went to adjust Vegas 10 and increased its capability, I also have Pro 9 installed as well, and went to increase that but it was already done by default!
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network