How to show clip length on timeline? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 22nd, 2010, 04:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Troms Norway
Posts: 59
How to show clip length on timeline?

I'm editing on timeline and need how to view the length og each clip. When using "Tools/Scripting/Add timecode to all media", you can see the timecode where the cursor is placed on the original clip and not the edited clip. It's also possible to count the length of each clip on the timeline, but this is not an effective way to do this.
Does anyone know about a function/script in Vegas 10 that makes it possible to see the actual length of each clip when editing`? I'm not using trimmer when editing.
Leif Skoglund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2010, 05:36 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
edit details tab
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2010, 05:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Courtesy of Gilles Pialat
Scripts and Custom Commands
"Show Event Length" is the script you want.
He has a lot of other very useful (all free!!) ones there as well.
For example, use "Open In Graphic Editor" several times on every project.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 02:52 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Troms Norway
Posts: 59
Thanks so far.

The scipt named "Show event Lenght" is downloaded. Now I cant find where(directory) to put the file named CC_Showeventhlength.dll. It's not a real script-file(cs-file), The text-file added to the -.dll-file has named some paths/directories, but I'm not able to use these paths. Maybe these paths are useful in XP/Vista. I'm using WIN7-64bit and SV Pro 10, and I need a path which is useful in Windows 7.

As I mentioned in my first post, when using "Tools/Scripting/Add timecode to all media", I could see the timecode where the cursor are placed on the original clip and not the edited clip. But when using Video Event FX and adding "Sony Timecode" to a clip, I'm getting what I need. The timecode is now in "realtime" and shows the length of the clip I'm using. But I can't add this Event FX to all clips, it would take too long time.

Any ideas here????
Leif Skoglund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 02:59 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Leif, I just dropped it into the Pro 10 script folder.
C:\Program Files\Sony\Vegas Pro 10.0\Script Menu
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 03:00 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
simply drop it in the scripts folder of vegs....
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 03:26 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Troms Norway
Posts: 59
Dropped the files into the script folder, but "An error occured........"

error 0x80131600(message missing)
Details: Failed to create instance of main class:"Entry point"
at Sony.Vegas.ScriptHost.ScriptManager.Run(Assembly asm, String className, String methodName)
at Sony.Vegas.ScriptHost.RunScript(Boolean fCompileOnly)

What to do here?
Leif Skoglund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 05:00 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Esher, Surrey
Posts: 89
I get that same error message in XP Leif.
Dugi Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 05:07 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Make sure that you drop only the dll and png files into the script folder.
I'm using XP Pro 32-bit and it works in Pro 8, 9 and 10.
Leslie is using Windows 7 64-bit.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 05:25 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Mike, that's what I did as well - same message.
Running 32-bit version.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 06:06 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
I'm on Santa's naughty list so nothing under the tree for me this year :-)
As it turns out, I've been misleading everybody.
After seeing the error messages, I did some checking and, even though it worked, it wasn't because it was in the script folder.
It was also in C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\My Documents\Vegas Application Extensions and this is where it should be placed.

This should help everyone but Leif as he's on Windows 7.

Leslie, can you confirm that the script folder is the only place this shows up in?
If you don't, I'm sending you all the snow I have (which isn't much, you'll be glad to hear!!).

Wishing a very merry Christmas to one and all.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 03:47 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
oi vey!!!!

as ever, mike is quite right;

C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\My Documents\Vegas Application Extensions

and NOT AT ALL under scripts - that's why it shows up as an extension!

heartfelt apologies to one and all. put it down to age....

and mike, i'd be quite happy for some of your snow......

a very merry humbug to one and all......
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 03:53 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Apology accepted.
And watch it with the age comments you old fart (says the almost 60 yr. old with a grin!!)

As far as snow is concerned, I seem to recall a news story just this week about snow in Australia somewhere.
Or am I having a flashback again?
:-)
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 04:19 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Wait until you get to my age, then the mind really is gone, you young kids!

O|O
\--/
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2010, 07:53 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
Apology accepted.
And watch it with the age comments you old fart (says the almost 60 yr. old with a grin!!)

As far as snow is concerned, I seem to recall a news story just this week about snow in Australia somewhere.
Or am I having a flashback again?
:-)
oi, show some respect to your elders!!!!!

we're having a real old rollercoaster of a ride with the weather. today, or at least this morning i had to put a jumper on - by lunchtime it was back to a shirt - t-shirts are out nowadays, gotta protect what's left of my fair skin....

have a really great weekend, and new year!

hey don, what age is that, and should i worry now at 63?
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network