Preview Setting While Rendering at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 31st, 2010, 05:50 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Preview Setting While Rendering

It is my impression that the preview resolution setting doesn't matter with respect to render quality. Some argue that before rendering , the preview quality should be set to "Best - Full" for best results. Is there any validity to that?
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 06:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
None that I've ever seen. Render quality has nothing to do with preview quality. I've rendered with my preview OFF. No difference.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 06:16 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
That has been my impression as well but I had someone who wanted to argue the point. I'll just leave him to his opinion ;-)
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 07:36 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
I've rendered with my preview OFF.
How? I have often been annoyed for it previewing while rendering (a total waste of processor time) and have always been wondering how to render with the preview off. But I have never seen an option for it.

I mean I guess I could always kill the preview window before rendering and restore it when finished, but that is something I would have to remember to do since once you start rendering, you cannot change the layout until the render is finished. So, if there is an option to automatically turn the preview off while rendering. I would like to hear about it.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 11:45 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
the amount of processing required for the preview window is truly negligible - you might save 20sec on a couple of hours.....

if you don't want preview - alt+4

simple
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 12:10 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
if you don't want preview - alt+4

simple
What version is that? I just tried it with Vegas Pro 10 and all it did was beep but it sure did not turn the preview off.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 03:17 AM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Stanislav View Post

I mean I guess I could always kill the preview window before rendering and restore it when finished, but that is something I would have to remember ......
Well here's what I do. I use the Vegas Windows Layouts. I use them, there are 10 of them, to loosely mirror my Project progression. So:

1 > 3 Are layouts I've developed for auditioning my clips.

4 > 6 Complex Event aggregation

7 I use for Tiling

8 Audio Work: Mixer and so on

9 Colour Grading and fixing

0 (zero) RENDERING. And here I have a really trimmed mean machine of a workspace. See?

Having my layouts set out and organised in this truly Project creation progression way does add some sanity to my normally all over the place workflow.

So long story short, I don't HAVE to remember just what layout (Preview ON or OFF) I will use, I just know that one of the last things I do, render, will be 0, and that's it. Press ALT+D+1 I can go back to the beginning of a new project.

Vegas Windows Layouts? For me it had the same effect on me when Vegas gave us the 3 Wheel Colour Corrector. Brilliant.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 05:50 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Stanislav View Post
What version is that? I just tried it with Vegas Pro 10 and all it did was beep but it sure did not turn the preview off.
it's been alt+4 for as long as i can remember.....

have you reassigned your keyboard at any stage?
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 08:02 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
First I'm not using 10 so it may be different and 2nd I keep my preview screen on my 2nd montior and can simply hit the X on the preview, or goto VIEW and uncheck it or Alt-4 to shut it down. No reason to have it up but it IS weird to be rendering and not seeing ANY kind of image on the screen.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 10:54 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard View Post
0 (zero) RENDERING. And here I have a really trimmed mean machine of a workspace. See?
That is a good idea. I'll have to adopt it as well. Thanks.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 11:23 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
have you reassigned your keyboard at any stage?
No. A brand new computer (several weeks). I just double checked. The help file says Alt-4 should work. But when I tried it, Windows said Vegas stopped working and asked me if I wanted to submit a report, then it killed Vegas.

To quote Chirag Gupta, Not good.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 12:04 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Snow View Post
It is my impression that the preview resolution setting doesn't matter with respect to render quality. Some argue that before rendering , the preview quality should be set to "Best - Full" for best results. Is there any validity to that?
The preview quality controls how things look when PREVIEWING and has NOTHING to do with rendering. When you choose File - Render As, you can click on "custom" and one of the tabs there will let you set the render quality. You can also go to File - Properties and set the default rendering quality. But it doesn't matter what the preview quality is set to when you start rendering.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 04:46 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Adam, just a thought here but did you accidentally hit ALT-F4? I don't think it would have generated an error report but....as we all know puters sometimes do strange things.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 05:21 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
alt + f4 will certainly close any program that has focus......
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2011, 05:47 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
Adam, just a thought here but did you accidentally hit ALT-F4?
No, Alt-4. It's not a big deal, by the way. I was just curious.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network