problem with sound forge studio 10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
problem with sound forge studio 10

I purchased SVMS HD platinum 10 production suite which consists of VMS 10 Platinum, DVD artitecht 5 and Sound forge studio 10. I am puzzled by the fact that when editing in VMS 10, I click onto a panel selecting "open in sound forge" and Soundforge 5 opens. I can see no way of altering the selection to Sound forge studio 10. Anybody know the answer?
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,766
In Vegas Pro, you have to point it to a specific exe file first.
Don't you have to do that in VMS as well?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 02:25 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Mike. How do I find out if I have to do what you suggest? and If I do, how do I do it?
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:26 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
If it's the same as Vegas PRo then here's how. Goto Options (tool bar) Prferences>Audio> set the preference there.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 05:52 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Don. I have followed your suggestion and I find I have no choice in the drop down panel regarding Sound Forge version.. It seems that I am stuck with version 5. I can't understand why Forge studio 10 is included in the production suite package if VMS 10 platinum will not open it completely. It attempts to open but when it gets to command processing it crashes.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 06:36 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,766
Roy, do you not see this option?
This is in Vegas Pro 10 but I see no reason why VMS wouldn't have it too.
Attached Thumbnails
problem with sound forge studio 10-soundforge.png  
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 08:05 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Mike. Yes I do see this option .., but where it says prefered audio editor, I click onto browse and no other choice appears for selection.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 08:10 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
The program executable will not be in a menu. You need to point to the SF10 EXE. So you'll needto goto C drive, programs or wherever you have SF10 installed, then find the folder that has SF10 in it, open that and find the EXE. Click on that and you should be all set.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 10:43 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Thanks Don and Mike. Have now followed your advice and have successfully made Forge Studio 10 the prefered choice. I have to say that apart from the basic how to tutorials The Vegas programmes are extremely hard to master. If it wasn't for this forum I would have given up on VMS a long time ago.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 12:04 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Actually Vegas isn't as hard as some other NLEs but I know what you mean. When I first started with Vegas back on version 2, I found Edward Troxels newsletter to be heaven sent.
While many of them are for older versions of Vegas many of the basics remain the same. I would go to his site and DL his newsletters and so any of the points you are having trouble with might be cleared up. I still sometimes refer back to them since sometimes we don't use all of the tricks all the time and my old age is kicking in so sometimes I jsut forget.

www.jetdv.com :: Index
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network