Time Code Clarification Needed.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2011, 09:01 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Time Code Clarification Needed..

Im confused on the Time Code..Perhaps My cameras cant do what I want them to do!

I used my Canon HV30 and HF200 on a shoot. Prior to the shoot I synchroized the clocks on the cameras as close as I could.

When I bring the footage into Vegas what I am expecting to see is the ACTUAL TIME it was shot... so If both cameras were recording footage at 4:05 pm I want all the footage from both cams at 4:05pm

Im getting goofy numbers....ie 43.777, 2:26:480,3:41.188, etc....

I have the "show source frame numbers as TIME" selected.

Am I able to see the chronilogical time or am I just really confused what TIMECODE is?

Thanks..
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 09:27 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
I didn't know the HV30 had timecode! I have the HV20. I didn't think consumer camcorders had it. I have two Sony V1U's with timecode that can be synchronized but it is such a pain in the butt I use Plural Eyes to synchronize my multicam shoots when editing. It works great and has never failed me.
D.J. Ammons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 10:40 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
After searching the web...What I am trying to do is sort clips based on DATE and TIME Is this possible in Sony Vegas?
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram

Last edited by David Ruhland; January 29th, 2011 at 11:10 AM.
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 01:15 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: RF
Posts: 23
Select detailed view in Project Media window: show me how
Aleksey Tarasov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 06:09 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Timecode and Date/Time are two totally different things. Timecode should be a consistent increasing time throughout the tape. Date/Time is the date and time it was shot. There can be many jumps in the date/time even on a consistent running timecode. In fact, jumps in the date/time is how it's determined that the camera was stopped and restarted allowing captures to be split into multiple clips.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 06:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Esher, Surrey
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ruhland View Post
Im confused on the Time Code..Perhaps My cameras cant do what I want them to do!
When I bring the footage into Vegas what I am expecting to see is the ACTUAL TIME it was shot... so If both cameras were recording footage at 4:05 pm I want all the footage from both cams at 4:05pm
I have the "show source frame numbers as TIME" selected.
When I want to see my Time of Day timecode I have the "Show source frame numbers on event thumbnails set to TIMECODE"
Dugi Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 06:48 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Okay..That is very Clear now. Thanks Ed.... But is there a way to see Date and Time in the Clips? I have searched and searched this matter to no avail all day today.

Im starting to think that Vegas doesnt offer this function.

Dugi.... having Timecode set does not show anything with my files

What I am looking for is the ability to scroll across the video on the timeline and see the date and time it was recorded.
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 07:19 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Esher, Surrey
Posts: 89
"Prior to the shoot I synchroized the clocks on the cameras as close as I could."
Did you actually set the timecode in the camera eg " 07:19:00:00"?
Just curious as I'm not familiar with your cameras and the second poster doesn't seem to think it's possible.
Dugi Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 05:59 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
I only was able to set the date and time. Neither camera puts out a "real" time code

So the question that no one can seem to answer is how do I see the date and time of my video clip when brought into Vegas?
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 07:22 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
So the question that no one can seem to answer is how do I see the date and time of my video clip when brought into Vegas?
I know of no easy way to do this. There are workarounds (i.e. there's a program that will modify your video to include the date/time code as an overlay) but I don't know of any way in Vegas to simply display that code. Timecode, yes. Date/Time, no.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 11:12 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Alrighty then....This is all starting to make sense now.... Final question....Do you have a suggestion on this overlay program that will do it?

Thanks...
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2011, 02:02 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 55
Not sure if it's what your looking for but DVMP Pro will let you view the timecode and date/time in HDV files (inc HV20 and HV30) or permanently overlay across the frames. There's a demo version available.
Colin Browell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network