Shooting Vertically in 16:9 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2011, 12:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Shooting Vertically in 16:9

Can you turn your camcorder VERTICAL and shoot in a 16:9 aspect ratio and then render it out like that?

I tried it and cant seem to make it work, but a coworker claims he is able to do it...We both are using Canon HF200 but I use Sony Vegas and he has Power Director by Sonic...
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2011, 01:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Open up the Project Properties window and set your Output Rotation as desired.
Choices are 0 (original), 90 CW, 180 (inverted) and 90 CCW.
Remember to rotate your source video accordingly (-90) using Pan/Crop as Vegas doesn't automatically do this for you.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 07:51 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
so i have set my project properties to rotate 90 i have used pan and zoom to turn the video -90 all i get is a hole big area of letterboxing surrounding the video...I must have something screwed up in the settings
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 08:23 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Of course, it only makes sense, think about it. On a normal TV that is what you would end up with because of the shape of a TV.

On the other hand, doesn't vegas have a feature that allows formatting for vertical screens, such as the ones you see in the mall and in stores, and in banks? I thought that was a feature introduced in 8 or 9.

I did a quick check but cannot find any presets for it.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 08:36 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Jeff, the Output Rotation preset I mentioned is what you're looking for.
This feature was introduced in Pro 8.
The online help menu has the details for it under "Digital Signage".
As you said, you need to shoot with this rotated format in mind.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 09:01 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Duh, I read your post, but didn't really try it out, sorry! Thanks Mike. That is a wonderful feature.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 09:18 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Here's a screen shot from some playing around with this feature and shooting video with a camera that was rotated on purpose.
Attached Thumbnails
Shooting Vertically in 16:9-screenshot.png  
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 09:55 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thanks for the sample Mike. Lots of potential with that feature.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 12:01 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Mike... How much for the CRT monitor in the pic? HA HA...

Hey im not doin so well here...
Attached Thumbnails
Shooting Vertically in 16:9-vertical-test-2.jpg  
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 12:15 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
David, if you're talking about the one on the top shelf, it's a priceless antique :)
To wit, a Commodore 2080, the only high persistence video/computer monitor for its time.

The one in the middle is a Tektronix 650, in its day a state-of-the-art broadcast colour monitor.

I really need to an office clean out one of these years.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network