A Vegas computer--in general terms at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2011, 09:02 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
A Vegas computer--in general terms

I'm contemplating splurging for a new editing computer. Previous computers have been mostly for Canopus Edius with Vegas running as an afterthought. Now, I'm shifting my focus to Vegas. Hmm. Better make that a 'limited' splurge--this computer has to have extremely high value rather than unlimited performance. I can only spend a max of $1k.

Sony doesn't seem to provide a lot of help in specifying a computer. What is really needed? I'm still using v9 (unless they have another sale on the upgrade...).

How many processor cores? How much ram? What kind of video card? (Do I really need a video card?) Which operating system?

At the moment, I'm contemplating a new Sandy Bridge i5. i7 just seems like it will be out of the question. I've never been an overclocker so I'm torn between a cheap H67--assuming the built-in video will be adequate and a 'real' P67--biting the bullet for an overclockable CPU and a cheap video card.

I do want to wait for Sandy Bridge so I've got some time to think and research this.

For comparison, I'm currently running an E6850 (dual core-no hyper, 3GHz) on an Asus P5k-e w. 2Gb ram and a Radeon x1950pro 256Mb.
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 01:21 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Tejral View Post
Do I really need a video card?
If you want to see what you are doing, yes. Unless, of course, the video is incorporated on the motherboard (but then your motherboard also functions as your video card).
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
No, the question was more--how much video processing power do I need? Will the motherboard video provide an adequate solution? And is the cost saving worth the potential overclocking gains?

FYI, the H67 chipset allows on board video and no overclocking (h=home?) and the P67 requires a separate video card and allows overclocking with an appropriate CPU (p=pro?). However, ain't a whole lot of info out there since the mobo's ain't out yet... SATA problem with the chipset...

Its seems that some users here have some inside info sometimes and I was hoping for some of that!
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 04:12 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
most 'umphy' cpu + min 6gb ram (for 64bit) you can afford. mb with firewire (unless your cam is hd / card). cheap vid card with 2 dvi out (for dual monitors). your good to go.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 06:28 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Tejral View Post
Will the motherboard video provide an adequate solution?
It is hard to tell without knowing further details. You can try it and see if it works. If it does, fine. If not, add a video card.

That said, I would not put much trust in motherboard video. Then again, I do not even trust motherboard audio.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 09:56 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
And with good reason!
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 05:12 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Cuda

Here is the recommended $2000 system from Toms Hardware
System Builder Marathon, Sept. 2010: $2000 Performance PC : The Quest For Six-Core Value

By now, 5 mo later, the components should be much less than $1500 - for value vs Performance it seems AMD is the better choice.

I wouldn't recommend saving money on the graphics card, more and more applications/filters/FX are now offloading to GPU processing, nVidia CUDA, so try a 9500GT CUDA-enabled card, available from $50

Some more reading from speed geeks, basically he's saying the the rest of the components have to be high-end to keep up the the faster i7/sandy bridge CPU's , else you get no speed gains...
Quote:
I think this definitely suggests that, if you're getting a much faster CPU (Core i7 980X, the forthcoming "Sandy Bridge" chips.. Intel's announcing that official at CES in January), you will probably need multiple drives, an SSD, and/or a RAID to keep the CPU well fed, at least from intermediate-class video files (native MPEG-2 or AVC will hit the CPU harder, the disc softer). I think some folks here have already seen high end i7 systems not running at full CPU, depending on the project.
Vegas 10... slow? And other benchmarks : Sony Vegas

/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 08:26 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus Helander View Post
I wouldn't recommend saving money on the graphics card, more and more applications/filters/FX are now offloading to GPU processing, nVidia CUDA, so try a 9500GT CUDA-enabled card, available from $50
This is the kind of info I'm looking for: but which applications/filters/fx will benefit? The Vegas requirements say nothing about this!

And why do things have to be difficult. nVidia says that virtually all of their chipsets have CUDA but Newegg only lists the Quadro cards with that spec... Confusing.

Yeah, because of the overclocking issue, I think I'll be going with a 'P' motherboard. We'll see what the prices are when they come out...
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 09:00 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
For a list of CUDA-enabled cards look at
CUDA GPUs

It's a trend, today Vegas 10 can render AVC/H.264 using the Sony codec with GPU-acceleration, more applications move to gpu-processing every day... vegas11 could possibly have gpu-accelerated preview, somehow they need to motivate those upgrades, i don't thing 3D-features is really the thing ;)
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 09:30 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus Helander View Post

It's a trend, today Vegas 10 can render AVC/H.264 using the Sony codec with GPU-acceleration, more applications move to gpu-processing every day... vegas11 could possibly have gpu-accelerated preview, somehow they need to motivate those upgrades, i don't thing 3D-features is really the thing ;)
NA NA NA NA Not listening! (sigh) I can't spend that much money! I can either upgrade Vegas--which 9 already runs slow on my computer or really splurge and buy this computer. But adding Vegas upgrade will push me over the $1k limit I set for myself.

I really should wait until I can afford an i7 and upgrades to Vegas. But who knows when that will be... I am willing to accept donations...

Just not a fan of AMD. Intel guy here.
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 12:32 PM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
With Vegas 9, it doesn't matter what video card you use. Vegas 9 won't use any of the special features of video cards.

With Vegas 10 (both Pro and Movie Studio), it will use CUDA support on some renders (i.e. Sony AVC).

Who knows what the future will hold.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 11:15 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
Re: A Vegas computer--in general terms

You could buy a non-i7 quad core - they are quite a bit cheaper. I use a Q9550, 2.83 GHz intel Core 2 Guad processor with 8 gigs of ram and 64 bit vista (which will be replaced by windows 7 soon). Running Vegas 9. I noticed a huge difference when I upgraded from Vegas 6 on my old hyperlink PC. The rendering times have improved significantly and I have done audio mixes of over 24 tracks without any issues whatsoever.
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 02:09 PM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: A Vegas computer--in general terms

Vista which will be replaced by Win 7 soon???? When did this information come from? Win 7 has been out for quite some time now and is strongly recommended over Vista.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 03:54 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: A Vegas computer--in general terms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Vista which will be replaced by Win 7 soon???? When did this information come from?
Information? I thought he was saying his computer was running Vista and he was going to replace it with Windows 7 soon.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 05:54 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: A Vegas computer--in general terms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Stanislav View Post
Information? I thought he was saying his computer was running Vista and he was going to replace it with Windows 7 soon.
That is what I took it as: His system is currently running Vista, but will be upgrading to Windows 7 soon.

Also, the current LGA 775 quad-cores are now way overpriced new (if they're even available at all any longer): The Q9650 still costs a whopping $250. As such I cannot recommend spending that much money for a processor that uses an already obsolete socket.

In fact, if you're spending anywhere close to $200 for just a CPU, you're better off with a quad-core i5. (Though i5 will still lag behind an i7 in video editing performance because the quad-core i5's lack HyperThreading, and the NLEs do take significant advantage of HT.)
Randall Leong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network