Vegas Timeline Misreads at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sitka Alaska
Posts: 470
Vegas Timeline Misreads

I'm using Pro 8.c.

When I drop a 30p video onto the time line, Vegas tells me it's not progressive. When I set properties based upon the original file footage, properties tell me that it's not progressive. Field order=upper first in both cases.

I have tried all kinds of different file formats in 30p. The end result is the same.

Help...
David Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:18 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Vegas Timeline Misreads

What model was the camera that the footage came from?
I'm asking this because certain models (Canon HV series?) incorrectly report this as you've found out.
It's been discussed here before so I'm sure a search would turn up a discussion or two.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:39 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sitka Alaska
Posts: 470
Re: Vegas Timeline Misreads

It doesn't matter. Any 30p footage that I have from Sony's, Canon Hv 20, 30, 40, Xh-a1 cameras.

Also, when I drop the 30p on a 8.1 timeline it says: field order=unknown.

?
David Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:43 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 175
Re: Vegas Timeline Misreads

When I import 30p footage from the HV40 and match media properties it shows as lower field first. I just set it to progressive and go. If the footage is progressive then it shouldn't matter what Vegas says at first. Just make sure you set the properties correctly and output as progressive.
Stan Harkleroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:58 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Vegas Timeline Misreads

Try this...

Add the clip to the timeline. Right-click the clip and choose properties. Now change it to Progressive. Now that it matches, click on the little "save" icon. The next time you add that type of clip, it should now default to Progessive.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 10:34 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sitka Alaska
Posts: 470
Re: Vegas Timeline Misreads

Yes, I do that.

However, when I bring the rendered 30p clip back into Vegas 8.c, it still does not say progressive. I guess it would be, but this hole situation makes me a little paranoid as to whether it is 30p or not.

Oh well....
David Rice is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network