Can Vegas capture DV footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2011, 03:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Can Vegas capture DV footage?

I have a tape back in 1999 that was recorded with my Canon HV10. When playing, the camcorder's screen shows DV. Today when I tried to capture, Vegas wouldn't do it. Under Preferences I selected DV, Vegas popped up an error message "Google Camera Adapter 0 cannot be opened".

I tried a more recent tape, it showed HDV on the camcorder's screen. I selected HDV in Preferences, and Vegas captured it with no problem.

What can I do? Apparently Vegas needs this "Google Camera Adapter" plug in in order to capture DV material.

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 05:43 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: Can Vegas capture DV footage?

That's not right. Vegas has a native DV capture function, that has nothing to do with "Google Camera Adapter".

What is more likely is that Windows is not correctly recognizing your deck in DV mode, therefore not applying the right driver, so, Vegas can't see it.

First thing to try is to power everything down, connect FW, powerup your deck, roll DV tape, then powerup your computer. This method assures that your camera is in DV playback mode when Windows tries to find the driver for it. If successful, Vegas will then see a DV source.

Some decks can be set in their menus to DV, HDV, or Auto (default). If you have this feature, set it to DV, restart the PC, see if Windows recognizes it.

A correctly identified DV deck will show up in Device Manager as Imaging Devices | AVC something.

If that doesn't work, better post more details, like, Firewire card, OS, etc. Many Win7 users have issues with Firewire and driver selection...
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 08:13 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can Vegas capture DV footage?

Did as you instructed, capturing right now, with Sony Video Capture 6.0. The footage show up as .avi, is that OK?

Thanks!!!
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 08:48 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Can Vegas capture DV footage?

The footage show up as .avi, is that OK?

That's correct.
Be advised that one hour of DV footage is approximately 13.5 gigs in size so don't be shocked.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2011, 10:44 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London
Posts: 24
Re: Can Vegas capture DV footage?

Quick FYI, I've also had this problem so rebooted with old tape running... Vegas picked it up perfectly this time around. Thanks!
James Fryer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network