"recompress edited frames" in Preview Device Preferences at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2011, 01:39 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 210
"recompress edited frames" in Preview Device Preferences

Hi folks.

I've been trying to find out what the "recompress edited frames" checkbox does in the preview device preferences menu.

I'm using Vegas 10 (64-bit) and taking a firewire out to a Sony DSR-11 deck which gives me a composite video out to my TV monitor.

The only resource I could find said that the checkbox should remain checked to properly view effects and transitions on the TV monitor, but that doesn't seem to be true because I can still see the effects and transitions if the checkbox is unchecked.

I'm trying to save on system resources to edit AVCHD footage on an older machine and this options seems like it should make a difference, so what does it do???

Anyone?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit // i7 2600K // 16GB RAM // ASUS P8P67 Board // NVIDIA GTX 470
Sony Vegas Pro 13 // Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014 // http://vimeo.com/alijafri
Ali Jafri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2011, 07:38 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: "recompress edited frames" in Preview Device Preferences

My understanding is that with that box checked, any effects applied to an event will be applied and sent to the external preview screen. If unchecked, nothing would be sent to the external preview screen where effects or transitions are applied.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2011, 07:54 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 210
Re: "recompress edited frames" in Preview Device Preferences

Edward, I would think that too, but for some reason I still see all effects, transitions, masks, and even event pans and crops with the box unchecked.

I dug up the help files and looked this problem up, this is what it says:
"Select the Recompress edited frames check box if you want to recompress edited frames in your project before previewing. When the check box is cleared, edited frames will not be passed to your preview device. If you're previewing a project that consists of DV media with no compositing or transitions, the DV will be passed directly to your preview device. If, however you'd added a 6-frame crossfade, the crossfade would be passed to the preview device only if the check box is selected."
For some reason this explanation does not hold true in my case, I can still see all effects and transitions. Would someone care to explain this phenomena?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit // i7 2600K // 16GB RAM // ASUS P8P67 Board // NVIDIA GTX 470
Sony Vegas Pro 13 // Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014 // http://vimeo.com/alijafri
Ali Jafri is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network