Transforming SD footage to HD format. Is it possible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2011, 10:04 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Transforming SD footage to HD format. Is it possible?

Hello,
i shoot video with Sony cam which gives 640 x 480 resolution. And i hate it! I will get HD cam soon, but i need to tranform some footage to HD or Full HD. I was trying to do this by cropping in Vegas, the image look HD but ive got black bars above and under my image, which i dont like. Is the any chanse to crop or do something do get rid of those black bars or how to transfrom SD to HD.


Thank you
Andy Sebkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 10:39 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Transforming SD footage to HD format. Is it possible?

Change your project properties (File - Properties) to one of the widescreen options.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 12:56 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: Transforming SD footage to HD format. Is it possible?

To actually transform the footage to HD you will need to use a third party app like Magic Bullet Instant HD Red Giant Software: Magic Bullet Instant HD 1.2. You'll need FCP, Premiere or After Effects as a host though so this ain't going to come cheap.

Also, I think the results are going to depend very much on what you're trying to upscale and the quality of the footage. Reports as to how good InstantHD is vary widely.

You might find this thread very interesting as well How to upscale from SD to HD? (and cheaper!)
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2011, 09:17 AM   #4
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
Re: Transforming SD footage to HD format. Is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Stark View Post
To actually transform the footage to HD you will need to use a third party app like Magic Bullet Instant HD Red Giant Software: Magic Bullet Instant HD 1.2. You'll need FCP, Premiere or After Effects as a host though so this ain't going to come cheap.
You could also use Boris FX UpRez which can be purchased separately as a Continuum Unit or as part of Boris Continuum Complete (BCC7). It works right inside of Vegas Pro 10 as a plug-in so there is no need to use any other host. Red Giant dropped support for Sony Vegas so personally I wouldn't give them a dime of my money.

I show you how to use BCC UpRez in my Boris TV episode:

UpRez SD footage to HD in Sony Vegas Pro 10

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com

Last edited by John Rofrano; April 23rd, 2011 at 09:18 AM. Reason: missing word
John Rofrano is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network