AVI in Vegas....GRRRR at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2011, 07:33 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

This has probably been brought up before, but I recently purchased a Toshiba HD Camcorder to use as a 3rd angle (stationary) for my weddings videos. Last night I got all my video transferred to the PC and wanted to throw some footage into Vegas to play with it, but the Toshiba imports everything as .AVI and it will not work in Vegas.

I guess, what are my options? I definitely don't want to lose quality because my Toshiba already isn't great in low light......anyone know of a good solution, hopefully FREE, that I can use to tackle my issue.

Thanks in advance!
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 07:58 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

AVI is like a candy wrapper. there are many flavors of it and they're all wrapped in plain paper, AVI,

There's a program out there called G-Spot which will read the material and tell you exactly which CODEC is wrapped in the AVI wrapper so then you can search and download the correct CODEC if needed BUT here's the rub. I'm not sure if G-Spot works with anything but SD footage but it's free so maybe DL it and try it to see.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 08:00 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

AVI files shouldn't be an issue.
What version of Vegas are you using?
AVI is a wrapper for a wide range of codecs and odds are that the Toshiba is using an oddball one that you don't have on your system.
Run one file through GSpot Codec Information Appliance and let us know what it tells you.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 08:06 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Thanks for the quick replies. I'll try this when I get home tonight and let you know. You are going to save the day on this one I think.

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 10:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 164
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

You can also try Mediainfo to know he codec and any other type of information about most media files


MediaInfo
Iker Riera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 03:04 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Gspot tells me "Codec(s) are Installed"

With MediaInfo, I browsed to the file location but wasn't sure how to make it analyze anything, do I need to click something after I browse?

As far as Gspot is concerned, it says Codec(s) are installed but I cannot drag and drop my .AVI into Vegas.

I'm running Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 10.
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 04:38 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Just because the codec is installed doesn't mean Vegas can read it.
What kind of file did GSpot say it was?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 08:20 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

I tried to attach a screen capture of the information for you but I'm not sure how exactly.

Codec: H264
Name: H.264/MPEG-4 AVC
OpenDML (AVI v2.0)

Am I not looking in the right spot? Any of this what you are asking for?
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 10:09 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Sparks View Post
...but the Toshiba imports everything as .AVI and it will not work in Vegas.
Thanks in advance!
Are the video files of your camera supposed to be AVI?

Maybe Vegas is importing them as the wrong type?

Look at the manual for your camera and see what type of file it is supposed to be.

Danny Fye
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 10:49 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

well matt,

it might have helped to have given the model # of your camera - as it is it seems toshiba records mp4 (not avi but more likely avchd):

Recording Format
H.264 Full HD
Video Resolution Options
HD (720p/30fps), VGA (640x460 / 30fps), FHD (1920 x 1080i / 60fps), FHD (1920x1080p / 30fps), HD (720p/60fps)

you also don't state which version vegas you're using, on what pc, etc.,
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 10:51 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Hi Matt

Toshiba camcorders seem to wrap the format up in an AVI and you will need a specific codec for it. The solution is the x.264 codec and it's available free from Sourceforge.net.
It is indeed an H264 file in an AVI wrapper rather than the usual MP4 or MOV so just downlaod and install the codec from Sourceforge and it should work OK

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 09:46 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Chris, this is great, could you possibly supply me with the correct link to the page to download. There are TONs of downloads on that site and I want to get the right one.
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 10:36 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

x264vfw | Download x264vfw software for free at SourceForge.net
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 07:43 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

Thanks Mike!!

I forgot to add the link!! According to other camcorder forums that is indeed the Codec that Toshiba camcorder users have to use so NLE's will read the file!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 03:49 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 14
Re: AVI in Vegas....GRRRR

This worked, you guys saved me a few days of waiting.

Thanks so much!
Matt Sparks is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network