Vegas 9 Batch Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2011, 07:45 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Vegas 9 Batch Capture

This is the first time I've tried to capture HDV from a Sony A1P to a new project in Veg 9 & while the camera is all recognized with timecode OK, & I can capture manually, the timecode in & out are grayed out and as usual the help is ABSOLUTELY USELESS ( Thank goodness for this forum). How do I input the time codes ? I have set the project up as HD PAL 8 bit pixel format & use Win 64b.

I had no trouble at all with this in Veg 8. What gives ??

RonC
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 08:12 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

there is NO batch capture with hdv.....
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 10:07 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

Thanks Leslie. I am somewhat miffed by this, as it is a bit of a chore with lots of separate clips, but yes, previously I did capture as down-converted DV in-camera from HDV. Its a pity they don't remind you in the capture menu.

RonC
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 11:32 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

and what a bugger!

apparently there is in sdi, but that's one hell of a workaround!

oh how i miss the days of scenealyser......

btw. you can use scene capture, whether with sony's built in capture or hdvsplit. either way it'd be better than nothing i suppose. nor is there any likelihood of anything being done about it since tape is on it's way out as mainstream acquisition....
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 12:20 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

I use the Sony A1P as a second camera and while I agree that tape is on the way out, this is still a very useful and good quality camera with a nice set of features, which I'm sure many people still use. Nowadays it's all about the latest and forget about yesterday's models regardless of quality.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 12:57 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

i know that only too well.....

i'm shooting with a z5 since my three main clients (incl. abc tv) still demand tape. for my own productions i use it with a cf recorder - makes for a quick and simple workflow. that said, i still shoot EVERYTHING on tape as well - even if i never look at it it's a great archive medium which i don't have to think about.

interestingly i know a few indies who have disposed of tape completely, and the hd they stored their footage on has either died, or, as is more common, been 'somehow' overwritten along the way.

i buy usually buy a couple of cheap usb2 hds for all my client projects ($125 isn't much in the scheme of things) and then give one to the client whilst hanging on to the second myself*, but there's nothing quite as simple as a tape, clearly labelled, on a shelf....

*so far i have probably made double the cost of my external hds from charging clients for duping their lost ones!
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 07:09 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
oh how i miss the days of scenealyser......
Still use Scenalyzer Live every week!!!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 07:46 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

edward,

i'm sure that if scenealyser could be re-engineered for hdv (mpeg), it'd be a winner. maybe not necessarily for capture since everything is heading to card and the like, but by goodness, it's logging and database functions are unsurpassed..... i still have 100's of dv tapes logged with head / mid / tail shots, etc.,
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 07:01 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Re: Vegas 9 Batch Capture

Edward, gentlemen,

I particularly like Sccenealyzer live!! I have had it for years and with multiple audio it is a life saver to be sure.

I asked them for an hd version and of course never got a response.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network