DVDA wants to recompress HD video - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 25th, 2011, 04:59 PM   #31
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

When you create the preset make sure that as well as setting 1280x720 59.94 you also make sure that the field order is also set to progressive and check all these before you render. I have found that although the project looks to be progressive 59.94 that is not enough without checking that the field order everywhere also says progressive. If not then DVDA will want to re-render.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2011, 05:42 PM   #32
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

I'll double check that Ron.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 12:08 AM   #33
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Ron, I've tried what you've recommended, and I've also gotten similar tips from a fellow in another forum, and all to no avail.

I've used two versions of Vegas, and two versions of DVDA as well.

I actually have to give up, I'm done for now. I've spent two days on this, and it's not working out. I have a shoot out of town tomorrow, and I may reinstall windows, etc after cleaning off my hard drive, which I've not done in two years.

I just rendered yet another version and will try it one last time here in a minute, and try this thing again in a day or two.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 08:41 AM   #34
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

I started from a Bluray 1920x1080 preset then changed parameters and saved a new preset as pictured below. The DVDA settings are also shown. Critical are the field order as well as frame rate and the bit rate MUST be below 28000. Hope you get it working you can change the parameters to match as this is just the base I used for the test. Setting ave will automatically set the min which could of course be less than the average !!!!

Ron
Attached Thumbnails
DVDA wants to recompress HD video-p60-render-preset.png  
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 03:37 PM   #35
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Ron, just returned from shoot to find your post. This evening I will duplicate your settings.

On the DVDA end, I had that for sure. I just discovered last night that in Vegas template the Level needs to be "High", not the default High 1440, which I did try, but that setting alone didn't alleviate problem.

Really appreciate the time you've taken, and for the screenshots especially.

I'll let you know what happens!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2011, 11:20 PM   #36
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Ron, just tried your setttings, and noticed your aspect ratio is set at 16:9 instead of square pixels...and wait....it works! I was using square pixel setting.

It is NOT wanting to recompress! Halleleujia!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 03:54 AM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Hi Jeff,
hehe! A kind of an anti-climax after all that heartache.

Pleased you got it sorted.

Regards
Richard
Richard Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 06:55 AM   #38
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Ron, you deserve an award for Samaritan of the year, or something. You stuck with this from beginning to end, alone, and for that I'm grateful. I am putting you in for a raise effective immediately. It should show up in your next check.

This was the last major hurdle (I hope) in the HD process, and it's a pretty good feeling.

Thanks Richard, yes it's a bit weird after days of this playing around.

Ron, I can't beleive the PAR was the issue. 720p is made up of square pixels (right?), so I wondier why this adjustment is necessary. Not that I'm complaining.

I went straight away to read up on pixels aspect ratio, etc, and it left me more confused than ever.

The quality of the disc is really nice. I put this on a regular DVD and it is stunning.

Ron, I feel like I should be yelling at Sony, or someone, but the energy I expended from this struggle has left me exhausted.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 10:55 AM   #39
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Yes it's worth it when it all works but can be very frustrating when it doesn't. Just one little setting can throw everything off.
Glad you are now happy.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 02:11 PM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Just Hi-Jacking the thread Jeff, sorry!
Wonder if Leslie (if your're still about) could enlighten me/us as to which media player he uses.
Sounds an interesting concept.
Might have to start a new thread on this. :-)

Regards
Richard
Richard Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 02:46 PM   #41
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

The WD media player is very popular. You should start a thread, would be interesting, I don't know of any other media player, but of course there are probably many out there.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 04:50 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 146
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

VLC is a popular open source cross-platform multimedia player.
VideoLAN - Official page for VLC media player, the Open Source video framework!

but more importantly to me, THX to Jeff/Ron/etc...

i had problems a while back trying to create a 1280x720 23.976 BD that didn't recompress in DVD-A or just BSOD... finally gave up, figured i'd wait til next version; then read this topic, so went back, tried again.

built a menu-driven BD with 30+ video's and playlist, transcoded/burned/tested in two hours. SWEET

thanks again, it's good to have that off the things-to-do list
Rob Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 04:56 PM   #43
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Jeff,

I spent some time last night trying to accomplish what you were trying to do and did accomp;ish much. Before I sat down today I checked this thread out and how nice to see that it has been worked out!!

I was trying to build a preset from scratch and was not successful, did not occur to me to start with the already given preset and just change it about!!

Yes, ron derserves the good guy of the year award!!

I am going to go give his fix a try right now.


I use VLC media player a lot.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 05:05 PM   #44
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Dale, I might be mistaken, but I suspect Richard was asking about hardware for playing HD content.

On the original thing, I find it unfathomable that Vegas doesn't have a 720 60p preset effective for rendering DVDA compliant footage.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2011, 05:15 PM   #45
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Re: DVDA wants to recompress HD video

Jeff,

I misunderstood the player thing obviously.

I just built the 720 preset, rendered a short piece and it works fine!!

How hard would that have been to put in place, especially sence it is compliant!!! AND, why does square pixel not work??? That borders on retarded.

Sometimes sony really ticks me off!!! Like my edius avi wont play in 10 but will in 8.

However I am so fond of the work flow I can't bring myself to let go of it and always find myself using Vegas.

Curiously, are you shooting in native 60P? which camera are you using for that??
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network