5 camera Muilticam software? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2011, 12:50 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
5 camera Muilticam software?

I use Ultimate S for multicamera, and I love it, it's the best. But it's limited to 4 cameras. How are you editing 5 or more cameras?

Vasst does have a plug in that's good for hudreds of cameras, but the idea of buying it to add a single camera is a downer.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 01:44 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 102
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Vegad 9 and 10 have internal multicam. No
Need to use a script for basic editing.
Dustin Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:02 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Hey Jeff, ive only ever used the Vegas multicam function,
What advantage does Ult S offer?
I cant think of much that the Vegas version cant do unless I'm missing something.

PS. finally got that 30mm Sigma, I can now see in the dark quite widely. Thanx for the suggestion :)
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:14 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

I should specify, not a fan of Vegas Multicam.

It's a weird little feature, seems as if it was tacked on like the "pro titler", but maybe I should try it again. How many cameras will it do? More than 4? I went tried to set it up for five tracks and Vegas froze up, then I tried it for two and it froze up again.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:22 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Jeff, Excalibur can do more than 4 cameras however since you have Ultimate S I guess you might not want to make a change.

To all others, Both Excalibur and Ultimate S offer advantages that Vegas Multicam doesn't. first and foremost is the ease of use. I've done seminars with 6 cams usings Excalibur and its all one button touch editing. That to me is worth the price of admission alone. There are other advantages as well but the main one for me is 1 button multicam editing.
YMMV
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:25 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Strange, Ive done 6 cams for about a 1hr project, a few times now and had no drama.
Before I was using Cineform it was a mountain of pain, It would crash every few mins (combo of AVCHD, HDV and MP4), but with Cineform it is as solid as the rest of Vegas for me.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:26 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

You can color correct prior to editing and not lose your work, which I do with every shoot. I color correct/add effects prior to setting up my multicamera, and I'd like to be able to continue that.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 03:47 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 102
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

I run my multicamera projects with a parent project and a bunch of
sub-veg files that contain each individual camera. The sub-veg files are
what I add to the timeline in the main project and synthesize into
a multi-take multicamera clip.

If I need to color-correct after the fact or shift a clip a frame for better sync
I do that in the sub-veg file and it automatically propagates to the main project.

Also, sometimes I get camera angles after the edit is half finished. I usually
leave an empty sub-veg file as one of the takes in the multicamera file from
the beginning so that I can integrate any late-breaking camera angles into the
edit painlessly.

Most of my edits are 4 to 8 DV type-1 avi files. If you use this method in Vegas
10d, the send full-frame to external monitor option in the multicamera menu
will not work. Also, kill all the audio tracks and clean project media in the sub-veg
files. Keep all the audio tracks in the main project file.
Dustin Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 05:27 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mililani, Hawaii
Posts: 89
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

I, too, have not bothered using Vegas' built-in multicam function. I have always used VASST's InfinitiCam ever since it was released. I regularly edit 6 to 9 cams (AVCHD transcoded to CF avi) and it has never failed me. Worth every penny, imo. I also own Ultimate S Pro for the other features.

Jr. Pascual
49 Productions
Junior Pascual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 07:18 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Hmmm, Vasst Infinicam, thanks Junior. Might have to go that route. Excalibur is a logical choice, but since I alrready do Vasst, as was suggested I'd be better to stick with it, after years of Ultimate S.

Thanks everyone! I really appreciate your feedback.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2011, 02:46 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior Pascual View Post
I, too, have not bothered using Vegas' built-in multicam function. I have always used VASST's InfinitiCam ever since it was released.

Jr. Pascual
49 Productions
With Vegas 10 I went from Infiniticam to the Vegas built in one. The improvements in Vegas 10 have made it superior to Infiniticam.

Much easier to use as well.
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2011, 01:30 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Just finished a Multicam project (3 cams) in Vegas 10d, quick,easy and not a single issue experienced..
I have found the multicam feature in vegas to be excellent....
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2011, 02:59 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
You can color correct prior to editing and not lose your work, which I do with every shoot. I color correct/add effects prior to setting up my multicamera, and I'd like to be able to continue that.
Which program are you talking about here? Vegas? I just color corrected two tracks and am about to create the multi-track. I know it gets rid of cross-fades and what-not, but will it dump you color correction as well?
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2011, 06:24 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Yes, I'm talking about Vegas, Jeremiah. "If you have envelopes, effects, or motion applied to the original camera tracks, these will be lost during this operation."

Unless this has been changed in the updates, it is how it works, unfortunately. You will not be the first person to find this out after the fact, Jeremiah. Sorry.

If you've spend a huge amount of time on it, the only choices are to either lose your work, or download a program such as Ultimate S or Excalibur and use it as a demo to get you through this project.

But the problem with that approach is you might end up spendiing as much time learning and figuring out the program as you would have redoing your work.

You're kind of caught in the middel, so to speak.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2011, 07:34 AM   #15
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: 5 camera Muilticam software?

Add color correction to the MEDIA - in the Project Media tab - and it will not be lost. But, yes, anything added to the events themselves will be lost using the built-in multi-cam.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network