MP42 Codec w/Vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 3rd, 2011, 12:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 461
MP42 Codec w/Vegas?

Has anyone found a way to use .avi files using the microsoft MP42 codec in Vegas? I can get them to work fine in Premiere. Vegas 9 treats them as audio-only and Vegas 10 actually just plains says it won't load them. The codec is installed on both computers.

Any ideas?
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2011, 06:15 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,878
Re: MP42 Codec w/Vegas?

You may have "a" codec installed but do you have a "VfW" codec installed? Vegas uses "Video for Windows" codecs. Your simplest solution is probably to use some other app to convert it to a format Vegas can read and then edit those files.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network