Time lapse from GoPro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 4th, 2011, 01:58 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Time lapse from GoPro

I've been trying to catch a bobcat with a GoPro - more exactly, catch a PICTURE of a bobcat that strolls by here most mornings.

I set the camera to record a photo every 2 seconds and now have several thousand frames to review

I can select all the frames and Vegas brings them all to the timeline, but seems to want to play them at 2 seconds apiece.

How can I get it to play them at 29.27 fps to scan for the bobcat?
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2011, 02:08 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Time lapse from GoPro

This assumes that they're in a separate folder and that each image is "properly" sequentially numbered (i.e. image001.jpg, image002.jpg, etc.)

Do an "import media" as usual and browse to this folder.
Click on the first image in the sequence and then click the "Open still image sequence" box at the bottom of the screen.
Vegas will import all your images as a sequence that can be dragged to the timeline.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2011, 02:22 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Re: Time lapse from GoPro

Thanks much.

I'll give it a try

Edit Worked fine but no Bobcat. My wife saw the cat today but camera wasn't set up

Last edited by Jim Andrada; July 4th, 2011 at 08:30 PM.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 11:01 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sætre, Norway
Posts: 27
Re: Time lapse from GoPro

Did this with a bird table, 2000 pics and only 2 frames with a bird!

Did ttis with a gopro, good fun.

Cedric Cornell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 01:16 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Re: Time lapse from GoPro

Only problem I've had setting up the time lapse was the difficulty of framing the shot..
Set up the camera, take photo, hook it to the PC, look at the photo, adjust position (fortunately using s quick release tripod plate) and repeat. 14 times!

I just ordered the LCD back for it to make it easier next time (f there is a next time)

Anyhow I'm just starting to scan the 8k photos from this AM

Maybe the Bobcat will leap out at me.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network