Pro 10.0e is here at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2011, 02:07 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Pro 10.0e is here

Sony Creative Software - Download: Vegas Pro 10.0

Notable fixes/changes in Version 10.0e

Added support for LPCM audio in MVC files, 24p video in MVC files, and 50p/60p video in AVC files (e.g, such as from Sony HXR-NX3D1U camera).
Added support for reading Omneon Spectrum RDD9 MXF files.
Added support for creating IMX MXF files compatible with Sony eVTR deck.
The Burn Blu-ray Disc feature has been updated for compliance with the Blu-ray Disc specification. You can render 3D projects to a Blu-ray 3D Disc image file (.iso) from the timeline (Tools > Burn Disc > Blu-ray Disc). This feature is intended for commercial BD-ROM preparation testing.
Increased bit rate on built-in MVC templates and added 720-50p MVC template.
Fixed a crash that could occur when deleting events with OFX plug-ins.
Fixed a crash that could occur using Apply Non-Real-Time Event FX.
Fixed an issue that could cause incorrect colors for Windows Media Video (WMV) files in the 64-bit version of Vegas Pro.
Fixed an issue with thumbnails for some OFX plug-ins.
Fixed an issue editing Sony AVC/MVC templates in non-English versions of Vegas Pro.
Fixed an issue that prevented saving certain OFX presets.
Fixed an issue creating a Dynamic RAM Preview for OFX transitions.
Fixed an issue copy/pasting events with crossfades smaller than the audio quick-fade duration.
Mike Kujbida is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 05:20 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Thanks Mike..
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 07:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 414
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

can't believe they didn't fix the capture issue with JVC camera's and HDPro 19.8mbps. I know the codec isn't really what the latest camera's used, but there'd be a large support base out there.

Oh well we soldier on.....
Adam Letch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 07:51 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

It's not listed in the notes but thankfully they did fix the trimmer issue which caused the cursor to jump around unexpectedly while navigating clips in the trimmer.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 08:03 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Thats nice! I wonder what Vegas will do next now that the war is heating up intensly. Auto white balance after clip import would be nice.. and i hope they could iron out an engine that truly allows on the fly editing for DSLR clips.
__________________
Firewerkz Films SGP
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2011, 12:42 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Any update on the "render to ram shift-B" surprise/feature?
/magnus
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2011, 12:29 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

I don't remember the specific problem some people were having with shift-b and Pro 10d, but I did just complete a project on 10e-64, win7, and used ram preview with no surprises...
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2011, 02:13 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

never had a problem with shift+b either.

i think a lot of the key/shortcut problems 'might' arise from other apps having registered their use after vegas.....

ymmv
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2011, 03:06 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Shift B resulted in the loop bracket jumping back to the beginning of the clip rather than just the selected region.
Interesting that not everyone had the same thing, I did though.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2011, 05:54 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 202
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Just curious what exactly shift B and RAM preview is?

Because I'm using 10d (not 10e yet), but my project keeps failing to render around 15% or so mark. It states "low memory resources" or something like that...even though I have plenty of free memory and no other applications running during rendering.

I've tried both on my core i5 laptop as well as my core i5 desktop - both end up with the same issue. The laptop has 4gb RAM, the desktop has 8gb RAM.
Zhong Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2011, 05:54 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Shift-B is a "render to ram" so that you can get full framerate playback across a complex transition or effect.
After selecting the section on the timeline you render it to ram with Shift-B and then you can play that section at full framarate/resolution. There is an option where you can set the amount of memory available for RAM preview - setting this too high will give you problems.

I've never seen your error - pls provide more info so someone may be able to help, 'or something like that' is not very specific. Are you running 32 or 64 bit versions? What kind of media on timeline? Which OS? Any specific plugins? etc
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2011, 03:49 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 202
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

It's about as specific as I can remember. Something to do with "low memory resources" as I stated.

I used various plugins - Sony color curves, Magic Bullet Looks, Sony Color Corrector, Contrast/Brightness, etc. Each clip has a few plugins used, but I feel Sony Vegas should be able to handle it fine...

Running 32-bit Sony Vegas 10.0d on a 32-bit Windows 7 system. Media on timeline is mostly DSLR footage from Canon 7D and 60D, along with some .mp3 songs and .wav files from my Zoom H4Ns and Zoom H1s.
Zhong Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2011, 04:44 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Magnus,
I had a lengthy diologue with Sony regarding this issue and eventually they admitted there was a problem and told me to upgrade after the next release, if the problem still persisted to open a new incident.

What happens is you set the area you want to ram preview then execute using shortcut or menu and the area moves, it either collapses completely or moves to a previous position or to some other place on the timeline. Very strange! I have tried on various machines even on a new machine with no other software apart from windows 7. My vegas version was the 32 bit version.

Not tried the new version yet, but will as soon as it's downloaded.

Regards
RichardG
Richard Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2011, 06:12 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 221
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zhong Cheung View Post
Running 32-bit Sony Vegas 10.0d on a 32-bit Windows 7 system. Media on timeline is mostly DSLR footage from Canon 7D and 60D, along with some .mp3 songs and .wav files from my Zoom H4Ns and Zoom H1s.
Try upgrading/installing a 64bit edition of windows 7 and running the 64bit version of Vegas - that should take care of any memory issues.

/m
__________________
Magnus Helander, Crossmediageek on G+
Magnus Helander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2011, 02:36 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
Re: Pro 10.0e is here

Hi all,
Looks as though the Shift+B problem is now fixed.

Works for me now!

Regards
RichardG
Richard Green is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network