Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2011, 09:22 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

After horror experiences with versions 9e and 10D trying to render Cineform codec mixed with Sony MXF and jpeg photos in a 90`timeline (black frames, low memory messages / render interruption, etc), now version 10E (64 bits) seems be a bit better in my recent tests, but it has generated this kind of problems (in this case, some defective frames in a transition):

What kind of error is this?
Thanks

Intel dual core 2, - 3GHZ processor - Windows 7 professional 64 bits - 6 RAM
Attached Thumbnails
Vegas Pro 10E-  defective transition-aci-defective-transition.jpg  

Last edited by Ron German; August 6th, 2011 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Not including file
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2011, 10:09 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London
Posts: 302
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

Hi

Is it smart rendering? Do you see a black preview window for some of the time saying rendering isn't required?

What are you rendering to? The blocks tend to suggest an encoding problem. Fades and transitions are quite a challenge for lots of encoders, and they can struggle if pushed too hard or there are lots of transitions if quick succession for example.

What if you export it as Sony YUV and watch it back, is that problem free?

Regards

Phil
Phil Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2011, 10:13 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

Ron, what's the source footage that you converted with Cineform?
Same thing for the MXF footage.
How big (in pixels) are your stills?
I'm wondering if this is a case of your computer (it is definitely underpowered) just can't handle the footage.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2011, 02:41 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

Thank you Phil and Mike
My system should be enough, according to Sony and Cineform minimum system requirements.
HDV (from HV20) converted to Cineform codec.
h.264 (from Canon T2i) converted to Sony MXF 35 mbits
Photos jpeg maximum 3200 X...resolution
Not smart rendering
This problem happened rendering to Cineform Codec and to (QT) DNXHD with 23`part of my doc project.
I didn`t try to export it to Sony YUV with Vegas Pro 10 E yet, but with version D the render was too slow and used to stop with low memory messages.
But surprisingly, with version E, the system crashes and black frames ramdomly found along the render process seems not happen.
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 10:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Now defective frames

More defective frames, but now one frame inside inside a rendered clip.
What`s the source of this error?
Maybe one error frame in a 20` rendered file (in this case, to DNXHD codec).
So I don`t know how to do a "safe" render.
Attached Thumbnails
Vegas Pro 10E-  defective transition-david-drop.jpg   Vegas Pro 10E-  defective transition-vivian-drop.jpg  


Last edited by Ron German; August 7th, 2011 at 09:35 PM.
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2011, 01:26 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

It would appear you have defective hardware. Have you overclocked either your CPU, memory or graphics card? If so, set your hardware back to factory defaults.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2011, 01:48 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

how many hd's in your system?

running any other apps at the same time, such as nortons?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2011, 10:33 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Re: Vegas Pro 10E- defective transition

Thank you Eric and Leslie
I didn`t overclock CPU, memory or graphics card.
No Norton. 3 hard disks.
Ron German is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network