Video Capture settings Changed?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2011, 06:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sarasota,FL.
Posts: 32
Video Capture settings Changed??

Sony Vegas Pro 8
New problem now when trying to capture video from a camcorder (Canon Vixia HV30) to Sony Vegas 8. Never really had a problem with this till now.
Here's the scenario, opened capture application and in the window "preview is turned off"now displayed on capture screen.
Video capture now does not detect my camcorder, also when I click on the video tab I used to have two choices for capture #1 "Hauppauge Win TV418 video capture", and #2 "Microsoft DV and VCR".
I always use the #2 setting "Microsoft DV and VCR" and capture with no problem.
Now things have changed...... I don't get the "Microsoft DV and VCR" option at all on the video tab!!, so I tried clicking on the only available option left "Hauppauge Win TV 418 video capture" I now get the error message... Stating
The device "Hauppauge Win TV 418 Video Capture" could not be opened. Please make sure that it is turned on and is not being used by another application or user.
I went to the help section of Vegas in troubleshooting I saw that it said to ensure your camera is selected on the video menu and also ensure "smart preview video" or "always preview" is selected on the options menu. For the life of me I can't find these options. I am assuming that the "options"they are talking about are in the Sony video capture window?? I have clicked on this "option" and cannot find a place to select "ensure smart preview or always preview"!! Am I looking in the right place??How would I restore the
“Microsoft DV and VCR”settings once again ??
We have spent over six hours trying to rectify this, no luck. We have a memorial project we're trying to complete by the end of the week,.and time is of the essence, appreciate your input to this problem.
Thanks for your comments.
Blayde Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2011, 06:23 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Video Capture settings Changed??

dl hdvsplit to get the job done......

tried another cable?

what os are you on?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2011, 06:57 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sarasota,FL.
Posts: 32
Re: Video Capture settings Changed??

Thanks for your fast response Leslie,Sorry dl hdvsplit to get the job done......is this a program ?
New Fire wire cable ...Not yet, possibly tomarrow
Vista 32 bit.
Blayde Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2011, 08:08 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Video Capture settings Changed??

HDVSplit utility for HDV capturing with scene split - HDV capture utility

have you installed any progs / codecs since you last did a successful capture?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network